PHP Web Host - Quality Web Hosting For All PHP Applications $35/month $250/year (Unlimited) - $25/month - 200,000 impressions - Your Ad Could be Here - Click For Details
  Login or Register
 • Home • Downloads • Your Account • Forums • 

View next topic
View previous topic


Google
 
Web RavenPHPScripts (This Site)
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message
TheosEleos
Moderator


Joined: Sep 18, 2003
Posts: 958
Location: Missouri

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 1:29 pm Reply with quote Back to top

I get strange referers.

I have over 50 today from keywordmaster.de. Are they actual hits or what?

I also have a ton from apart-design.com. I don't understand what this stuff is. It has been happening for a long time but I don't understand what it is. Are they search engines indexing me or somethng?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger ICQ Number
beetraham
Regular
Regular


Joined: Dec 13, 2003
Posts: 94
Location: Finland (EU)

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 5:24 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Quote:
I get strange referers.

I have over 50 today from keywordmaster.de. Are they actual hits or what?

I also have a ton from apart-design.com. I don't understand what this stuff is. It has been happening for a long time but I don't understand what it is. Are they search engines indexing me or somethng?


In my opinion, your site has been exploited in an attempt to boost up the *web presence* of those *referrer spammer sites* by getting listed your sites' TOP REFERRER listings/rankings.

Furthermore:

I've recently started to get experiencing similar kind of symptoms - and more specifically *locators.com* being now clearly considered as a major *referrer spammer*, as I found out that the site consistently spreads out referrer information that is classified with offensive backlink content.

A typical encounter from *locators.com* is a scripted visitor BURST OF 2, which contains (2) visits from the *locators.com* with interrelational timing stamps differences of [1-2] seconds. The extractable backlink targets are without an exception always different between the bursted OFFENSIVE backlinkage spreading attempts, but from the same IP always (as a general rule). The IPs that are identified with these bursted referrer spams always equal between the ones present in the BURST, but differentiate from the ones seen with the other unique bursts.

Conclusions:

* referrer spamming
<-> scripted approach using BURSTED approach
<-> payload info (offensive backlinkage)
<-> different IP's used (possibly spoofed ones)

Possible motives
<-> SE "backdoor page promotion attempt" by getting listed as a referer with PHP-Nuke sites
<->-->(...GT'ed the MSA, and Google does crawl it.)
<-> Direct *customer trap generation* (by offering offensive content)

As there are sites present listing the PHP-Nuke sites, it would definately not be a significant task to sort out the victim sites containing *space for open listings* reserved for the TOP REFERRERS and thereafter extract the exploitable ones to efficiently maximize the SE Marketting effort (the bad way) by getting listed the *high/low traffic* PHP-Nuke sites.

BR,

-beetraham
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TheosEleos
Moderator


Joined: Sep 18, 2003
Posts: 958
Location: Missouri

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:03 am Reply with quote Back to top

I just got hit by this site 80 times in the last few minutes.
Only registered users can see links on this board!
Get registered or login to the forums!


I'm going to add them to my blocked referers for Sentinel.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger ICQ Number
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Forums ©
 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2008 by Raven
Proud to be listed at Lobo Links Web Directory

You can syndicate our news using the file xml

CSE HTML Validator Helped Clean up This Page! [Valid RSS] valid RSS 2.0 Valid robots.txt Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot

Website engines core code is © copyright by PHP-Nuke but has been heavily patched and modified by myself and others.
PHP-Nuke is a free software released under the GNU/GPL.


:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::

:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance by Raven and 64bitguy ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation ::

zerosum