Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Modules
Author Message
Donovan
Client



Joined: Oct 07, 2003
Posts: 735
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 8:14 am Reply with quote

If they are turned off would this effect $_SESSION variable?

This code no longer works.

Code:
if (!defined('MODULE_FILE')) { 

    die ("You can't access this file directly...");
}

require_once("mainfile.php");
$module_name = basename(dirname(__FILE__));
get_lang($module_name);
global $prefix, $db;

$nukeusername = $userinfo['username'];
 

$sql = "SELECT * FROM ".$prefix."_milpacs_members WHERE nukeusername='$nukeusername'";
   $result = $db->sql_query($sql);
   if ($db->sql_numrows($result) > 0) {
       @session_destroy();
       session_start();
       $_SESSION['loggedin1'] = 1;       
       Header("Location: modules.php?name=MILPACS&file=viewdrill");
    } else {
       @session_destroy();
       session_start();
       $_SESSION['loggedin1'] = 0;       
       Header("Location: modules.php?name=MILPACS&file=accessdenied");
    }
    die();

?>
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Donovan







PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 8:26 am Reply with quote

I think I understand that these are not automatically created for you by PHP when the register_globals setting Off but if $_SESSION is a superglobal then isn't this different? I could use the variables $_GET, $_POST, $_COOKIE, $_ENV, $_SERVER and $_SESSION without having to reference them as globals first.
 
Donovan







PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 9:23 am Reply with quote

My front part of viewdrill page looks like this.

Code:
if (!defined('MODULE_FILE')) { 

    die ("You can't access this file directly...");
}

require_once("common.php");

if (!milpacs_is_user())
{
    Header("Location: modules.php?name=MILPACS&file=checkuser");
}


And my common is this:


Code:
if ( !defined('MODULE_FILE') )

{
   die("You can't access this file directly...");
}

session_start();

function milpacs_is_user()
{
    global $db, $prefix;

   if (isset($_SESSION['loggedin1']) AND $_SESSION['loggedin1'] == 1)
    {
   $nukeusername = $userinfo['username'];
    $query = "SELECT * FROM ".$prefix."_milpacs_members WHERE nukeusername ='$nukeusername'";
      $result = $db->sql_query($query);
      if ($row = $db->sql_fetchrow($result)) {
           return true;
        } else {
           return false;
        }
    } else {
       return false;
    }
}
?>
 
fkelly
Former Moderator in Good Standing



Joined: Aug 30, 2005
Posts: 3312
Location: near Albany NY

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 9:45 am Reply with quote

Instead of "and"ing the test of the value of $_session with the test for whether it is set, why don't you put the test for the value inside the test for whether it is set and only execute it if it's set? I don't think you want to be testing the value of a variable that is not set.

As to the larger question, I'd suggest using the isset function as a diagnostic and echoing something out if the $_session variable isn't set where you would expect it to be. That way you'd know for sure.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Donovan







PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 10:58 am Reply with quote

I kept looking at common.php and asked myself why I even need it in the first place. If I set the session in checkuser all I need in viewdrill and drillreport is the following:

Code:
session_start();


if ($_SESSION['loggedin1'] ) {

..


}
else
{
        $_SESSION['loggedin1'] = 0;
    Header("Location: modules.php?name=MILPACS&file=checkuser");
}



common.php was confusing no???

I got rid of it and modified my script and poof...it works. Very Happy
 
montego
Site Admin



Joined: Aug 29, 2004
Posts: 9457
Location: Arizona

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 6:50 am Reply with quote

Quote:

I could use the variables $_GET, $_POST, $_COOKIE, $_ENV, $_SERVER and $_SESSION without having to reference them as globals first.


I just wanted to respond to this one question. You never have to declare superglobals. They are what I like to call "scopeless".

I just found another useful one the other day called $GLOBALS. You can "stuff" your own variables into this associative array (just make sure the names are unique!) and they are immediately useable everywhere. Can be handy at times when one has nested functions (which is all over nuke!).

_________________
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Donovan







PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:29 am Reply with quote

Donovan wrote:

I got rid of it and modified my script and poof...it works. Very Happy


I spoke to soon. Mad

This does not work.

Code:
if (!defined('MODULE_FILE')) { 

    die ("You can't access this file directly...");
}

require_once("mainfile.php");
$module_name = basename(dirname(__FILE__));
get_lang($module_name);
global $prefix, $db;

$nukeusername = $userinfo['username'];

//echo "$nukeusername";

$sql = "SELECT * FROM ".$prefix."_milpacs_members WHERE nukeusername='$nukeusername'";
   $result = $db->sql_query($sql);
   if ($db->sql_numrows($result) > 0) { 
      session_destroy();
       session_start();
       $_SESSION['loggedin1'] = 1;       
       Header("Location: modules.php?name=MILPACS&file=viewdrill");
    } else {         
       session_start();
       $_SESSION['loggedin1'] = 0;       
       Header("Location: modules.php?name=MILPACS&file=accessdenied");
    }
    die();

?>


I can echo out the username just fine. If I am not logged in I can see the viewdrill. If I am logged in but do not have a nukeusername field set to my username I get sent to accessdenied which is correct. But why can I still see the viewdrill if I am "Guest", with no username?
 
Donovan







PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:32 am Reply with quote

Would this work?

Code:
if  (isset($nukeusername)) and ($db->sql_numrows($result) > 0) { 
 
montego







PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 10:10 pm Reply with quote

What is the value of $nukeusername when you are not logged in...
 
Donovan







PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 7:42 am Reply with quote

It is empty.

I have tried this as well.

Quote:

if (empty($nukeusername))&&($db->sql_numrows($result) > 0) {
session_destroy();
session_start();
$_SESSION['loggedin1'] = 1;
Header("Location: modules.php?name=MILPACS&file=viewdrill");
} else {
session_start();
$_SESSION['loggedin1'] = 0;
Header("Location: modules.php?name=MILPACS&file=accessdenied");
}


I am getting this error.

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_BOOLEAN_AND
 
Donovan







PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 7:53 am Reply with quote

*smack head*

Code:
$sql = "SELECT * FROM ".$prefix."_milpacs_members WHERE nukeusername='$nukeusername'"; 

   $result = $db->sql_query($sql);
   if (!empty($nukeusername)) {
      if ($db->sql_numrows($result) > 0) { 
      session_destroy();
       session_start();
       $_SESSION['loggedin1'] = 1;       
       Header("Location: modules.php?name=MILPACS&file=viewdrill");
      }
    } else {         
       session_start();
       $_SESSION['loggedin1'] = 0;       
       Header("Location: modules.php?name=MILPACS&file=accessdenied");
    }
   die();
 
Donovan







PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:53 pm Reply with quote

Darnit.

This still isn't working. Now if I am logged in but have no nukeusername loaded to compare it gives me a blank screen and does not send me to the accessdenied page.

I either need to go with (isset($nukeusername)) or (!empty($nukeusername))

The username has to be set and the username has to be compared to:

Code:
$nukeusername = $userinfo['username']; 

Code:
"SELECT * FROM ".$prefix."_milpacs_members WHERE nukeusername='$nukeusername'";
 
Donovan







PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 1:09 pm Reply with quote

Thinking of the logic here you realize why a person not logged in can see the viewdrill.php page from the following code:

Code:
$nukeusername = $userinfo['username']; 


//echo "$nukeusername";


$sql = "SELECT * FROM ".$prefix."_milpacs_members WHERE nukeusername='$nukeusername'";
   $result = $db->sql_query($sql);
   if ($db->sql_numrows($result) > 0) { 
      session_destroy();
       session_start();
       $_SESSION['loggedin1'] = 1;       
       Header("Location: modules.php?name=MILPACS&file=viewdrill");    
    } else {         
       session_start();
       $_SESSION['loggedin1'] = 0;       
       Header("Location: modules.php?name=MILPACS&file=accessdenied");
    }
   die();




If they are not logged in then this returns NULL true?

Code:
$nukeusername = $userinfo['username']; 


So this code...

Code:
if ($db->sql_numrows($result) > 0) {  

      session_destroy();
       session_start();
       $_SESSION['loggedin1'] = 1;       


...would result in 1 since I have members in my table with no nukeusername set. The field is empty.
 
montego







PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 6:51 am Reply with quote

Quote:

would result in 1 since I have members in my table with no nukeusername set. The field is empty.


But why would you have users with no usernames? Every user within nuke is required to have a login name, which is what I was assuming your username field in your table was. So, why would you be inserting a record into your table which does not have usename valued with a valid user from the nuke_users table?
 
Donovan







PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:26 am Reply with quote

montego wrote:
Quote:

would result in 1 since I have members in my table with no nukeusername set. The field is empty.


But why would you have users with no usernames? Every user within nuke is required to have a login name, which is what I was assuming your username field in your table was. So, why would you be inserting a record into your table which does not have usename valued with a valid user from the nuke_users table?


If the user is not logged in then ...

Code:
$nukeusername = $userinfo['username'];


would return a NULL. True?

So

Code:


$sql = "SELECT * FROM ".$prefix."_milpacs_members WHERE nukeusername='$nukeusername'";
   $result = $db->sql_query($sql);
   if ($db->sql_numrows($result) > 0) {


would actually return a value > 0 because in my milpacs_members I have a field called nukeusername that is supposed to match the $userinfo['username'] to allow them access to viewdrill.

If nukeusername is blank in my milpacs_members and the person is not logged in then I do have a match.

So again I need to find a way to make sure the person is logged in, and there is a match between $userinfo['username'] and my $nukeusername value in my table.
 
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Modules

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©