Author |
Message |
Donovan
Client

Joined: Oct 07, 2003
Posts: 735
Location: Ohio
|
Posted:
Fri Oct 20, 2006 4:40 pm |
|
I have a page that captures a team_id.
I use this when displaying information on the page such as:
Code:echo"<center><H2><strong>Campaign Movement Orders for </strong></H2></center><br>";
echo"<center><H2><strong>$unitname</strong></H2></center><br>";
|
I have a statement written but can't seem to read the value of the $id that I used before.
Code:if ($op == "Move") {
//convert all the posts to variables:
$tid = intval($_POST['tid']);
$action = 'Move';
//Insert the values into the correct database with the right fields
$result = $db->sql_query ("INSERT INTO " . $prefix . "_eto_movelog (log_id, ateam_id, tid, move_dt, action)".
"VALUES ('NULL','$id','$tid',CURRENT_TIMESTAMP(),'$action')");
$update = $db->sql_query("UPDATE " . $prefix . "_tc_teams SET tid = '$tid' WHERE team_id = '$id'");
}
|
The log_id, tid, move_dt and action are all being written to the table.
ateam_id is not being inserted into movelog
nor is team_id being updated in tc_teams
It seems to me that I can't read the value of $id inside this statement?
Why? |
|
|
 |
 |
Donovan

|
Posted:
Fri Oct 20, 2006 4:42 pm |
|
I get the value of id earlier in my script.
Code:$id = $_GET['team_id'];
|
|
|
|
|
 |
montego
Site Admin

Joined: Aug 29, 2004
Posts: 9457
Location: Arizona
|
Posted:
Fri Oct 20, 2006 6:44 pm |
|
Try using the variable name of $team_id instead of $id. I could have sworn somewhere that I read to avoid $id, but not sure.
Also, if your $id (now $team_id) was valued outside a function and you are trying to use it now within the function, make sure to define it within the function as "global". (I'll be honest with you, I forget this all the time... so if that is it, don't fret.) |
_________________ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! |
|
|
 |
Donovan

|
Posted:
Sat Oct 21, 2006 10:23 am |
|
I didn't write a function.
I changed it to team_id but still cannot write the team_id to either table.
Code:$team_id = $_GET['team_id'];
$sql = "SELECT * FROM " . $prefix . "_tc_ladderteams tclt WHERE team_id ='$team_id'";
$result = $db->sql_query($sql);
$info = $db->sql_fetchrow($result);
if (!$result) {
echo("<p>Error performing query: " . mysql_error() . "</p>");
exit();
} else {
$unitname = $info['name'];
}
if ($op == "Move") {
$tid = intval($_POST['tid']);
$action = 'Move';
//Insert the values into the correct database with the right fields
$result = $db->sql_query ("INSERT INTO " . $prefix . "_eto_movelog (log_id, ateam_id, tid, move_dt, action)".
"VALUES ('NULL','$team_id','$tid',CURRENT_TIMESTAMP(),'$action')");
$update = $db->sql_query("UPDATE " . $prefix . "_tc_teams SET tid = '$tid' WHERE team_id = '$team_id'");
}
|
|
|
|
|
 |
Donovan

|
Posted:
Sat Oct 21, 2006 11:02 am |
|
I had to POST the value. I thought if the value was passed by another page I would not need to.
Code:if ($op == "Move") {
$team_id = intval($_POST['team_id']);
$tid = intval($_POST['tid']);
$action = 'Move';
etc
|
My next page I'm working on is the Attack page. In this script I would have an attacking team_id and defending team_id such as ateam_id and dteam_id.
ateam_id is easy to get but dteam_id I'm trying to get from a dropdown box. So far I've been unsuccessful.
Same as before..both scripts look very similiar. I need the team_id passed to be ateam_id for attacking team. I think I have this part working.
Code:$team_id = intval($_GET['team_id']);
$sql = "SELECT * FROM " . $prefix . "_tc_ladderteams tclt WHERE team_id ='$team_id'";
$result = $db->sql_query($sql);
$info = $db->sql_fetchrow($result);
if (!$result) {
echo("<p>Error performing query: " . mysql_error() . "</p>");
exit();
} else {
$unitname = $info['name'];
}
Opentable()
?>
<center><H2><strong>Attack Orders for </strong></H2></center><br>
<center><H2><strong><?php echo $unitname ?></strong></H2></center><br>
<br>
<br>
<!-- Attack page -->
<?php
if ($op == "Attack") {
//convert all the posts to variables:
$ateam_id = intval($_POST['team_id']);
$dteam_id = intval($_POST['dteam_id']);
$tid = intval($_POST['tid']);
$action = 'Attack';
//Insert the values into the database
$result = $db->sql_query ("INSERT INTO " . $prefix . "_eto_movelog (log_id, ateam_id, dteam_id, move_dt, action)".
"VALUES ('NULL','$ateam_id','$dteam_id',CURRENT_TIMESTAMP(),'$action')");
}
?>
|
And further below I have my dropdown box to select what team to be attacked which would be dteam_id. So far this is not getting written to the table.
Code://Filter the values for the drop down box.
$result = $db->sql_query("SELECT * FROM " . $prefix . "_tc_ladderteams tclt
LEFT JOIN " . $prefix . "_tc_teams tct ON (tclt.team_id = tct.team_id)
LEFT JOIN " . $prefix . "_eto_campaigns ec ON (tclt.ladder_id = ec.cid)
LEFT JOIN " . $prefix . "_tc_ladders tcl ON (tcl.sid = tclt.ladder_id)
WHERE tct.div_id != $div_id
AND tcl.active = 1
AND tct.is_active = 1");
//Team List Box for Selection of Enemy.
while ( $row = $db->sql_fetchrow($result) ) {
$dteam_name = $row["name"];
$dteam_id = $row["team_id"];
echo "<option value='$dteam_id'>$dteam_name</option>";
}
echo"</select>"
|
Then at the bottom I have
Code:."<input type=\"hidden\" name=\"op\" value=\"Attack\">"
."<input type=\"hidden\" name=\"team_id\" value=\"$team_id\">"
."<input type=\"submit\" align=\"center\" name=\"Submit\" value=\"Attack This Unit!\">";
CloseTable();
|
I don't want the two team_id to step on each other which has happend already. |
|
|
|
 |
Raven
Site Admin/Owner

Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 17088
|
Posted:
Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:22 am |
|
Donovan wrote: | I had to POST the value. I thought if the value was passed by another page I would not need to. |
All values that are passed by any means have to retrieved by using $_GET, $_POST, or $_SESSION - there are a few other ways, but these are the main ones. There is no other way but by referencing the type method that was used to pass the variable. I'm not sure what you have confused here. |
|
|
|
 |
|