Author |
Message |
enchantedstrike
New Member
![New Member New Member](modules/Forums/images/ranks/1star.gif)
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
Joined: Jan 14, 2008
Posts: 16
|
Posted:
Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:25 am |
|
Your need to loose the $prefix...
Replace $prefix with whatever your database name is...
if you database name was NUKE
The line should read:
ALTER TABLE NUKE.`_cities` ADD PRIMARY KEY (id);
BTW...I was having some issues with these types of things. FIRST THINGS FIRST!!!
Go download CRIMSON EDITOR. DO NOT USE WORD to look at PHP files or SQL files. It adds all kinda crap in the background.
http://www.crimsoneditor.com/
Its free... Word might be half your problem here. |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
thundarfoot
Regular
![Regular Regular](modules/Forums/images/ranks/2stars.gif)
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
Joined: Jan 16, 2008
Posts: 75
|
Posted:
Thu Jan 17, 2008 1:39 am |
|
actually I am using wordpad not ms word does it still add crap to it?
I have managed to get the site working except I still have issue creating users I am going to make a new post on it since its a diffrent subject.
Thank you all for the help getting this issue resolved |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
montego
Site Admin
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/0c0adf824792d6d341ef4.gif)
Joined: Aug 29, 2004
Posts: 9457
Location: Arizona
|
Posted:
Thu Jan 17, 2008 6:49 am |
|
Yes, wordpad is crap also. We make recommendations within the HowToInstall manual as to which tools are best for editing text files. I have even heard folks having issues with Crimson, so not sure on that one. We have our recommendations for a reason....
This, to me, still sounds like an environment issue. As kguske asked earlier, how did you install Apache, PHP, mySQL? If you are not using the XAMPP package, I would highly recommend that you do. We have not seen ANY issues like this that I can recall using that build. |
_________________ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! |
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
Gremmie
Former Moderator in Good Standing
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/0cd76dcf45da5de2cf864.jpg)
Joined: Apr 06, 2006
Posts: 2415
Location: Iowa, USA
|
Posted:
Thu Jan 17, 2008 8:54 am |
|
Yeah I would not be so quick to claim victory. Something is still messed up in your environment.
Also, you want that SQL to read:
ALTER TABLE `nuke_cities` ADD PRIMARY KEY (id);
(Assuming your prefix was nuke) |
_________________ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! - An Event Calendar for PHP-Nuke
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! - A Google Maps Nuke Module |
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
thundarfoot
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Thu Jan 17, 2008 11:29 am |
|
yeah something is very borked, as add new user gives blank page, but that seems to be the only issue....the scripts I am coding by hand seem to be running fine,
I installed it by downlaoding the new install files from each site apache,mysql,and php following the directions on some website. after 4 or 5 re-installs I finally got it working I really hate uninstall it all, but I will If I have to I am about to leave but will look up that winamp program or watever it was called. ![Smile](modules/Forums/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
montego
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Fri Jan 18, 2008 6:43 am |
|
XAMPP for windows is one complete install and it takes care of absolutely everything for you. It is an absolute DREAM! I used to install all the components separately like you have done, but, it is tedious and error prone. The folks at Apache Friends have done an outstanding job with this distro. LIke I said, none of us have ever experienced these issues and we've literally got thousands of installs under our belts between all the RN team.
This is just your local (non-internet accessible) environment right? Your local PC or local server? If so, then XAMPP is fine. If it is an internet-accessible (without VPN) PC/server, then XAMPP may not be appropriate as it is not set up with security in mind. |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
thundarfoot
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Fri Jan 18, 2008 1:24 pm |
|
It is just my local machine, but I hope to learn how to make it open to the www, I am not ready to learn that yet but hope to finish this project with placing my site on the net. so its probably not right for me? |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
Gremmie
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:54 pm |
|
We highly recommend using XAMPP for local testing and experimentation. |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
thundarfoot
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Sat Jan 19, 2008 1:31 am |
|
would it not then be difficult to go live though? |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
Gremmie
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Sat Jan 19, 2008 9:22 am |
|
Well when you go live, you go find a real host. You weren't thinking of hosting a site from your local PC were you? Not too many people have the resources (bandwidth) to pull that one off (or an understanding ISP to support that). |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
thundarfoot
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Sun Jan 20, 2008 6:33 am |
|
yes, I was thinking of trying to learn how to host it myself. I have extra computers and a mid level dsl bnandwith package and no idea at all what it would take to do it...but would like to learn |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
montego
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Sun Jan 20, 2008 11:05 am |
|
thundarfoot, I would not recommend it unless you like the idea of getting hacked. Hopefully you will keep the rest of your home network protected somehow. I shudder at the thought personally.
You are on your own there... ![Sad](modules/Forums/images/smiles/icon_sad.gif) |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
Gremmie
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Sun Jan 20, 2008 11:13 am |
|
Check with your provider too. Most of them have fine print that says you cannot host a server of any kind. |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
thundarfoot
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Sun Jan 20, 2008 7:12 pm |
|
well crud, well any tips for finding a good host? |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
thundarfoot
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:27 am |
|
xampp fixed the problem and a problem I didnt know was a problem until it went away....Thanks for the advice |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
montego
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:29 am |
|
Well, um, er, I'd give RavenWebHosting a try... I hear he's the best! Unfortunately, its against the forum rules here to advertise any web hosting services, so you will not get specific other "recommends". |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
thundarfoot
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:38 pm |
|
I realized that after I asked, when I "tuned" into the header ads...I was like duh THEY host lol |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
kguske
Site Admin
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/41f0b40a419280935f3a0.gif)
Joined: Jun 04, 2004
Posts: 6437
|
Posted:
Tue Jan 22, 2008 5:01 pm |
|
Welcome to RavenPHPScripts... |
_________________ I search, therefore I exist...
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! |
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
huntor
Regular
![Regular Regular](modules/Forums/images/ranks/2stars.gif)
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
Joined: Jun 13, 2006
Posts: 54
|
Posted:
Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:01 pm |
|
I just recently ran into his issue as well. I upgraded my MySQL to 5.0.51 which I think is the issue.
I receive this error.
The exact error message that your MySQL server reported is:
MySQL Error # 4 = BLOB/TEXT column 'cdescription' can't have a default value
I think the line in rn_htmlnewsletter.sql is at fault
CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS $prefix.`_hnl_categories` ( `cid` int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment, `ctitle` varchar(50) NOT NULL default '', `cdescription` text NOT NULL default '', `cblocklimit` int(4) NOT NULL default '10', PRIMARY KEY (`cid`) ) TYPE=MyISAM;
It seems to not like the
`cdescription` text NOT NULL default '',
when creating. Everything else installs fine but the News Letter Tables.
Can anyone give me ideas on what I should change to see if it will work? |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
montego
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Fri Feb 08, 2008 6:01 am |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
huntor
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Fri Feb 08, 2008 2:43 pm |
|
Here is fix spelled out thanks Montego
Original code
`cdescription` text NOT NULL default '',
Changed to
`cdescription` text NOT NULL, |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
|