Author |
Message |
jane1965
New Member


Joined: Jun 28, 2009
Posts: 10
|
Posted:
Fri Jul 10, 2009 5:37 am |
|
I am wanting to create a feedback system for individual site advisors whereby the feedback for each advisor will be available for the site users to read. I looked at the feedback module but it appears that just sends a message and does nothing else from what I could make out. I took a look at the Reviews module and came to the conclusion that I could make copies of the module and database for each advisor and add a link to their pages, but I'm not quite sure what code etc., I would need to change to ensure that the copied module matches the copied database as each copy would be renamed to match the advisors name and no longer be called Review. I hope this makes sense, I'd really appreciate any help with this or even suggestions of any other way I could achieve a feedback system.
Thank you  |
|
|
|
 |
jane1965

|
Posted:
Fri Jul 10, 2009 9:42 am |
|
I have copied the Review module and the database, and renamed both the copied module and database but I'm finding that when I send a review through the copied module, both databases (original and copied) collect the info submitted and its the same if I submit info through the original module too. How can I make them be completely separate databases?
Thanks in advance for any help with this  |
|
|
|
 |
montego
Site Admin

Joined: Aug 29, 2004
Posts: 9457
Location: Arizona
|
Posted:
Sat Jul 11, 2009 4:12 pm |
|
jane1965, I think you are really wanting to say "completely separate tables" instead of "databases". You must find every instance of the old table names within the copied code and give them the new names of your tables. |
_________________ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! |
|
|
 |
jane1965

|
Posted:
Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:23 am |
|
Thanks for your reply Montego, that is probably what I mean to say I'm still learning when it comes to databases so would just like to double check what you mean - I assume the tables are $id, $title etc., and that I would have to rename them all in the database as well as change them all in the files too? |
|
|
|
 |
jane1965

|
Posted:
Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:20 am |
|
After taking a look at the database I see that what I called databases are in fact called Tables, so I think I misunderstood what you meant by Tables so please ignore my previous message  |
|
|
|
 |
jane1965

|
Posted:
Mon Jul 13, 2009 8:44 am |
|
I attempted to change all the table names in the files but neither the original or the copied databases are receiving the reviews that are sent so I must be doing something very wrong. I've also come to the conclusion that maybe that wasn't a good way to achieve a feedback system as I would need to copy and change the files for each new advisor.
I don't know much about arrays, but the Review module sorts the reviews alphabetically, so I am thinking that maybe I could change the array so that it sorts by name instead of letters but even though I have looked up arrays on the web, I'm none the wiser how to change this. I tried deleting the alphabet and added names instead, but when I sent a reviews, it added the same review to 2 out of the 3 names that existed, and basically I just want it to add the review to a specific advisor not any others. Please could someone tell me what I need to change on this code below in order to get it sorting by names and will also add the review to that name only.
Thank you for any help with this
function alpha() {
global $module_name;
$alphabet = array ('A','B','C','D','E','F','G','H','I','J','K','L','M',
'N','O','P','Q','R','S','T','U','V','W','X','Y','Z','1','2','3','4','5','6','7','8','9','0');
$num = count($alphabet) - 1;
echo '<center>[ ';
$counter = 0;
while (list(, $ltr) = each($alphabet)) {
echo '<a href="modules.php?name=' . $module_name . '&rop=' . $ltr . '">' . $ltr . '</a>';
if ($counter == round($num/2)) {
echo ' ]' . "\n" . '<br />' . "\n" . '[ ';
} elseif ($counter != $num) {
echo ' | ' . "\n";
}
$counter++;
}
echo ' ]</center><br /><br />' . "\n";
echo '<center>[ <a href="modules.php?name=' . $module_name . '&rop=write_review">' . _WRITEREVIEW . '</a> ]</center><br /><br />' . "\n\n";
}
function display_score($score) {
$image = '<img src="images/blue.gif" alt="" />';
$halfimage = '<img src="images/bluehalf.gif" alt="" />';
$full = '<img src="images/star.gif" alt="" />';
echo $score . ' ';
if ($score == 10) {
for ($i = 0;$i < 5;$i++) {
echo $full;
}
} else if ($score%2) {
$score -= 1;
$score /= 2;
for ($i = 0;$i < $score;$i++) {
echo $image;
}
echo $halfimage;
} else {
$score /= 2;
for ($i = 0;$i < $score;$i++) {
echo $image;
}
}
} |
|
|
|
 |
Guardian2003
Site Admin

Joined: Aug 28, 2003
Posts: 6799
Location: Ha Noi, Viet Nam
|
Posted:
Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:05 pm |
|
Why not just use the forums and give each advisor his own forum?
You would also have more control over who could read/write/edit/delete the content. |
|
|
|
 |
|