Author |
Message |
wiz
Involved
![Involved Involved](modules/Forums/images/ranks/4stars.gif)
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/c35d15694752e0da5cc74.gif)
Joined: Oct 09, 2006
Posts: 413
Location: UK
|
Posted:
Fri Nov 17, 2006 11:56 am |
|
I recently installed the ourscripts Shoutbox. It is a very nice, customisable scrolling block.
However, although visible it only displays shouts on certain pages. For example, when on the forums pages, the block displays the content and scrolls nicely.
When on the homepage, it appears empty.
I assume this is a scroller problem, could the problem be in my javascript.php? and if so, how would i fix it?
Cheers
WIZ |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
kguske
Site Admin
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/41f0b40a419280935f3a0.gif)
Joined: Jun 04, 2004
Posts: 6437
|
Posted:
Fri Nov 17, 2006 1:24 pm |
|
Do you have other JS that gets loaded on the home page, but not on forums? |
_________________ I search, therefore I exist...
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! |
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
wiz
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Fri Nov 17, 2006 1:36 pm |
|
yes, a few..
Ok by process of elimination (turning various blocks off). I have narrowed the problem down, to the fact that the shoutbox only breaks, if my Clock block is turned on.. So i deduce that shoutbox doesnt like the 'Time' JS.
How to fix, i have no idea |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
kguske
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Fri Nov 17, 2006 1:49 pm |
|
Nice detective work. I'm no JS expert, but you can check JS references and forums for possible ideas. |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
wiz
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Fri Nov 17, 2006 1:52 pm |
|
eek
Thanks kguske, but you still know a hell of a lot more than me
![Cheers](modules/Forums/images/smiles/cheers.gif) |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
kguske
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Fri Nov 17, 2006 2:04 pm |
|
Cheers! In this case, I'd probably find another clock or, more likely, just turn that off. I mean, why do your visitors need to know the time from your site, anyway? Are they all in the same time zone? You get my picture... |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
wiz
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Fri Nov 17, 2006 2:07 pm |
|
well for now its off. We are situated all over the world so its quite handy for working out when others are going to be online, as it has a quick conversion function.. i will trawl for a nice one |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
kguske
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Fri Nov 17, 2006 2:13 pm |
|
In that case, you might want to look for one that uses Flash instead of JS. Good luck... |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
wiz
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Fri Nov 17, 2006 2:14 pm |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
CodyG
Life Cycles Becoming CPU Cycles
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/186c8977515afcc3ed82a.jpg)
Joined: Jan 02, 2003
Posts: 714
Location: Vancouver Island
|
Posted:
Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:36 pm |
|
Shoutblock is a huge hit on my community site. I've had it installed for 3 years and last time I looked the table record count was close to 90,000... When I upgraded last week, shoutblock was the first block to be added, it always had a top-center position.
And I had exactly the same problem as you wiz ... everything was groovy, but not a shout to be seen. History was there, cp was working fine... just no shouts.
I started comparing the files from my working version on nuke6.9 to the fresh version I'd downloaded from ourscripts.
The diff in the new shoutbox.js file were a couple of added functions.
Code:
function expand(listID){
if(listID.style.display == "none") {
listID.style.display = "";
}else{
listID.style.display = "none";
}
window.event.cancelBubble = true;
}
function contract(listID){
if(listID.style.display == "show") {
listID.style.display = "";
}else{
listID.style.display = "none";
}
window.event.cancelBubble = true;
}
|
I can't figure out why they might be useful, but I commented these out and everything was again groovy. |
_________________ "We want to see if life is ubiquitous." D.Goldin |
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
wiz
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Fri Nov 17, 2006 6:16 pm |
|
Nope didnt work my friend.
I take it you actually meant 'add' that script to shoutbox.js..which i did, to the first part.
I might have to find a new clock, however ours works quite well , i would adopt a flash one immediatly, but a couple of guys are using freeBSD, and i dont know but they say Flash isnt available yet. We do have a flash theme, but i have kept a non-flash theme too; for those outcasts ![ROTFL](modules/Forums/images/smiles/rotfl.gif) |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
pdi-doc
New Member
![New Member New Member](modules/Forums/images/ranks/1star.gif)
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/5446522147bf8989de2c6.gif)
Joined: Mar 12, 2007
Posts: 22
Location: UK
|
Posted:
Sat Mar 17, 2007 5:03 am |
|
I think you need to do this:
JAVASCRIPT:
-It is a known fact that, if two or more javascript apps use window.onload=, that one or more will fail.
-I have provided an area within the shoutbox.js file at the top to resolve this.
-Open all your other blocks and modules that use window.onload= in KATE or wordpad and write down all the onload events. Watch CAPS!
-NOTE: window.onload=WorldClock will become WorldClock();
-Place a // in front of all those window.onload events, save, and reupload. This stops them from running.
-Example: // window.onload=WorldClock
-Open shoutbox.js
-At the top youll see:
function allonloads() {
populate();
}
-Place all your events in it like this:
function allonloads() {
populate();
WorldClock();
Something();
SomethingElse();
}
-This starts all your blocks with javascript running again without conflict.
-Save and upload shoutbox.js
-Note: The shout box will have to be on the left side of your site in order for the others to work (unless all your blocks using javascript are on the right side).
-PLANNED: v9.0 of the shout box will eliminate this entire javascript hassle! Yea! |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
Fluke
Hangin' Around
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
Joined: Oct 24, 2003
Posts: 32
|
Posted:
Tue Apr 17, 2007 6:44 pm |
|
It may be cross posting, I don't know but this also applied to my current problem. I am using the latest version of this shoutbox. In Firefox and IE7 it's broken. No scrolling. The only scrolling box that works with Raven nuke appears to be the Arcade scroller and that's only in IE7.
-Fresh install of Raven Nuke
- 8.5.2 of Shoutbox
- Arcade 3.02
Firefox 2.x
IE 7
I run the server currently on my own machine. Same as I did when I developed a site using Futurenuke. With Futurenuke site all scrolling boxes worked including gallery. So I don't really believe the problem is at all with onload.
I find a lot of dead ends with this problem. Would be nice to know what is happening.
Does anyone know why this is happening and on latest Futurenuke it works perfectly?
Cheers! |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
Gremmie
Former Moderator in Good Standing
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/0cd76dcf45da5de2cf864.jpg)
Joined: Apr 06, 2006
Posts: 2415
Location: Iowa, USA
|
Posted:
Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:46 pm |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
boham
New Member
![New Member New Member](modules/Forums/images/ranks/1star.gif)
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
Joined: May 05, 2006
Posts: 16
|
Posted:
Wed Jan 30, 2008 11:09 pm |
|
Seems all links to this shoutbox is gone. Does anybody have one zipped?
EDIT: Sorry, I meant to reply in the above thread that Gremmie solved but had too many tabs up and hit reply on the wrong one. |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
wiz
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Wed Jan 30, 2008 11:21 pm |
|
I dont, i am afraid.
I noticed this too with Sommaire recently. If anyone has the admin/language files for it. Please let me know. |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
montego
Site Admin
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/0c0adf824792d6d341ef4.gif)
Joined: Aug 29, 2004
Posts: 9457
Location: Arizona
|
Posted:
Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:38 am |
|
wiz, wiz, with Sommaire, there is an installer which modifies your language files. If you still have the installer, just run it. It won't overwrite an existing set of tables as far as I can recall (take a backup just in case). |
_________________ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! |
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
wiz
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Thu Jan 31, 2008 10:38 am |
|
Boham
I will export my tables, and zip up all of the files tonight, when i finish work..that should be enough for you to get it running. I have a spare installation, so i will upload it there first to check it works for you.
Montego Thanks, but i wouldnt be that great, if i left the install scripts for anything, on my server , but Boham has sent me a copy of his language file, and all is now.....English
Another productive day on Ravenphpscripts
![RavensScripts](modules/Forums/images/smiles/ravensphpscripts.gif) |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
Gremmie
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:17 am |
|
Maybe we should provide a download here of the ourscripts.net shoutbox with the 2 fixes I made for RavenNuke here? |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
montego
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Fri Feb 01, 2008 4:42 am |
|
wiz wrote: | Montego Thanks, but i wouldnt be that great, if i left the install scripts for anything, on my server , but Boham has sent me a copy of his language file, and all is now.....English |
And I never suggested that you would. A wise and prudent individual will always have a copy of their original distribution for any given module, block, hack, etc. somewhere in a "safe place" in case its needed. It is too easy for a file to become corrupt, accidentally deleted, maliciously modified/removed, or even just want to use the same thing elsewhere.
Glad you are up and working. |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
Raven
Site Admin/Owner
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/45030c033f18773153cd2.gif)
Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 17088
|
Posted:
Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:14 pm |
|
Gremmie wrote: | Maybe we should provide a download here of the ourscripts.net shoutbox with the 2 fixes I made for RavenNuke here? |
Even better, why not include it? |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
Gremmie
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Sun Feb 10, 2008 12:08 pm |
|
Is it too late?
I believe I also made some HTML compliance changes to it. I'll have to run a diff between the original download and my install and see what all I did. |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
Raven
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Sun Feb 10, 2008 12:43 pm |
|
SVN it asap and I will test it out as I am performing a complete install/test from beginning to end. |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
Gremmie
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Sun Feb 10, 2008 2:00 pm |
|
It doesn't have an installer file that fits the RN scheme. I mean, I could SVN it, but I'd hate to throw a monkey wrench in the last minute of getting RN out the door. ![Smile](modules/Forums/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
Raven
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Sun Feb 10, 2008 2:06 pm |
|
I meant include it as an addon ![Smile](modules/Forums/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
|