Author |
Message |
wiz
Involved
Joined: Oct 09, 2006
Posts: 413
Location: UK
|
Posted:
Sat Nov 09, 2013 10:05 am |
|
Just recently i was alerted to the fact that new users cannot register at [ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ] . I tried it myself and no matter what the username, it is already taken.
HELP !!
PHP : 5.3.26
MYSQL : 5.1.68 cll
Apache : 2.2.25
Cheers in advance |
|
|
|
|
nuken
RavenNuke(tm) Development Team
Joined: Mar 11, 2007
Posts: 2024
Location: North Carolina
|
Posted:
Sat Nov 09, 2013 1:44 pm |
|
It is probably a javascript conflict. Your site has sever scripts added as well as a second jquery called after the head.
Code:
<script type="text/javascript" src="includes/custom_js/jquery-1.6.4.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="includes/custom_js/ddaccordion.js"></script>
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="includes/custom_css/accordian.css" />
<script type="text/javascript" src="includes/custom_js/accordian.js"></script>
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="includes/custom_css/tabcontent.css" />
<script type="text/javascript" src="includes/custom_js/tabcontent.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="includes/custom_js/jquery.validate.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="includes/custom_js/jquery-ui.js"></script>
</script>
|
If the js is added by the theme, try changing themes to one of the default ones and see if it works. |
_________________ Tricked Out News |
|
|
|
wiz
|
Posted:
Sun Nov 10, 2013 5:38 am |
|
I commented those out, but still the same issue occurs |
|
|
|
|
neralex
Site Admin
Joined: Aug 22, 2007
Posts: 1775
|
Posted:
Sun Nov 10, 2013 7:37 am |
|
You have lost your body tag or better the body tag is totally wrong placed. You have also many validation issues in your code. Try to fix all errors and warnings:
[ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ]
[ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ] |
_________________ Github: RavenNuke |
|
|
|
wiz
|
Posted:
Sun Nov 10, 2013 10:09 am |
|
Can markup that hasnt been changed in 4 years really break SQL ? |
|
|
|
|
nuken
|
Posted:
Sun Nov 10, 2013 11:35 am |
|
I still think it is a javascript conflict. jQuery is used to display the warning. Try removing some of the 3rd party javascript that is being loaded that you are not using. I noticed you have js for Ravennuke Reflection and twitter. If you are not using them, remove the files in includes/addons that is loading them. I would also try it with a stock theme if you haven't already. |
|
|
|
|
wiz
|
Posted:
Sun Nov 10, 2013 3:02 pm |
|
Yeh, tried it with various stock themes, and commented out all includes in the custom header |
|
|
|
|
montego
Site Admin
Joined: Aug 29, 2004
Posts: 9457
Location: Arizona
|
Posted:
Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:34 am |
|
|
|
|
wiz
|
Posted:
Mon Nov 11, 2013 2:26 pm |
|
Good point Montego
will check that also and report back
Cheers guys |
|
|
|
|
wiz
|
Posted:
Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:55 am |
|
OK, i deleted the files in the addons dir, disabled sentinel and switched to a stock theme (extralite) and still i get...
fder78 has already been registered, is blocked, or contains invalid characters
This is beginning to bug me now. |
|
|
|
|
neralex
|
Posted:
Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:26 am |
|
nuken, is right - its a javascript conflict! Do you have it tried to disable your Donations-Block? It could be also your wrong markup, because you have a heavy chaos in there and if JS should work correctly then you need a clear markup.
If you have tried a stock theme then you have some self added code in your markup becaue with a clean install of RN it works without a hit.
I would use a local test server system like WAMP, create a backup of all files and database, put all stored files and the DB into the local test server and then i would start to remove all self installed 3rd party addons. It seems for me you have added many unneeded stuff.
BTW its not needed to disable the sentinel. |
|
|
|
|
wiz
|
Posted:
Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:48 am |
|
Thanks Neralex
I disabled sentinel just incase it was blocking registrations |
|
|
|
|
hicuxunicorniobestbuildpc
The Mouse Is Extension Of Arm
Joined: Aug 13, 2009
Posts: 1123
|
Posted:
Tue Nov 12, 2013 9:18 am |
|
still 94 Errors, 20 warning(s).
[ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ]
Lots of work to do on your site but I notice u weren't use a decent editor neither. Good Luck!
|
|
|
|
|
wiz
|
Posted:
Tue Nov 12, 2013 11:35 am |
|
Yes i fully admit there are validation errors, but surely thats client side... the check for username availability is surely SQL... Server side. And as i have said, the code has been standing for 4 years untouched...So why should it break now? |
|
|
|
|
wiz
|
Posted:
Tue Nov 12, 2013 11:59 am |
|
As for editor I have always use Dreamweaver, currently CS6 |
|
|
|
|
nuken
|
Posted:
Tue Nov 12, 2013 12:21 pm |
|
Have you turned on error reporting to see if any errors are being generated? Also, what version of RN are you running? You may need to upgrade to the latest. I would recommend testing the upgrade on a local install and make sure you have the production site backed up. |
|
|
|
|
wiz
|
Posted:
Tue Nov 12, 2013 1:02 pm |
|
rn2.51.00
Error reporting lists 2 instances of a depreciated eregi() |
|
|
|
|
neralex
|
Posted:
Tue Nov 12, 2013 1:22 pm |
|
If you are using 251 then you have a self created issue and it seems only you can find it through a deep search in your selfmade changes.
I have disabled JS in my browser and have tried a registration on your website. I got this warning from Your_Account:
Your selected username contains a restricted string.
Do you have made changes in Your_Account? |
|
|
|
|
wiz
|
Posted:
Tue Nov 12, 2013 1:58 pm |
|
negative, i can re-upload the module...but seriously zero work on the site in maybe 4 years |
|
|
|
|
neralex
|
Posted:
Tue Nov 12, 2013 2:19 pm |
|
Do you have made changes in the list of 'Blocked Username Strings' in the admin-area of Your_Account?
/admin.php?op=yaUsersConfig
Limits / Blocked Username Strings |
|
|
|
|
wiz
|
Posted:
Tue Nov 12, 2013 5:03 pm |
|
|
|
|
neralex
|
Posted:
Wed Nov 13, 2013 9:58 am |
|
...same for you!
I have it tested on 4 local installations with RN250 and RN251, three online versions with patched RN250 and a clear RN251 - in all installations it works without a hit. Its a result of your own changes and only you can find it with a deeper search in your files and db-tables.
Good luck! |
|
|
|
|
wiz
|
Posted:
Wed Nov 13, 2013 10:33 am |
|
Obviously RN works, thats why i have used it for the last 7 years, And obviously there is a problem with my installation. Hence why i rarely post here unless i really need advice. Telling me that my install is broken.. Yeh thats great advice. |
|
|
|
|
nuken
|
Posted:
Wed Nov 13, 2013 4:38 pm |
|
Firefox has some javascript debugger addons that may help locate what your site is running and may even offer some insight into the errors. You could also load your database into a local install with a fresh Ravennuke site and that could help to pin point what might be causing it. If it works, start copying your modules and blocks to the test install and see what is breaking it. This way you are not risking damaging your live site. |
|
|
|
|
neralex
|
Posted:
Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:19 am |
|
I have it tested with firebug but i've got no errors from the JS error console. After disable JS in firefox i've got a error from Your_Account:
Your selected username contains a restricted string.
And this is not a result of a JS script. It seems for me he has made changes on the list of 'Blocked Username Strings' in the admin-area of Your_Account or he has damaged this db-table through something else. I could be wrong but this error comes only if the used array is filled with a restriction. |
|
|
|
|
|