Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> phpnuke 7.5
Author Message
CodyG
Life Cycles Becoming CPU Cycles



Joined: Jan 02, 2003
Posts: 714
Location: Vancouver Island

PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 6:15 pm Reply with quote

Is anyone having any issues with NSNGroups?

The column Group, in Modules Administration, reads "None", no matter how much editing I do to the "Visible To" form.
http://masked.domain/admin.php?op=module_edit&mid=11

Also, the Modules Block (the menu) only displays the Home link. Immediately after I installed Groups all the other links, that should be visible, disappeared.



Cody

_________________
"We want to see if life is ubiquitous." D.Goldin 
View user's profile Send private message
BobMarion
Former Admin in Good Standing



Joined: Oct 30, 2002
Posts: 1037
Location: RedNeck Land (known as Kentucky)

PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 6:59 pm Reply with quote

Did you add any gropups with NSN Groups? Did you use the supplied block-Modules.php. When testing I no problems getting these to work correctly on a new and an upgraded install.

_________________
Bob Marion
Codito Ergo Sum
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
CodyG







PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 7:07 pm Reply with quote

Yes, Bob, I've added groups ... like admin, exec, SIG Chairs, members, etc. I also overwrote block-Modules.php, twice. I wonder if Sentinel has something to do with something? Checking...
Commented out the sentinel includes in mainfile.php and it didn't make a diff.

Any more suggestions? We don't have outside access to our server where we are setting all this up today or I'd let you have a look.

Thanks for helping.

Cody
 
CodyG







PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 7:34 pm Reply with quote

We found there was a column missing in nuke_modules .. nsngr.sql needs to update nuke_modules with a new groups column.

Everything is working now. Smile Pizza time!
 
CodyG







PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 8:56 pm Reply with quote

We also had to update sql tables nuke_messages and nuke_blocks to include the groups table.
 
JoLo
New Member
New Member



Joined: Aug 27, 2003
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 10:17 am Reply with quote

How would I update the tables? Is there an updated .sql file that I can get a copy of because I've been having the same problem. I've been boggled.
 
View user's profile Send private message
rod_a
New Member
New Member



Joined: Oct 05, 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 9:48 pm Reply with quote

I was with cody when we first found the problem. What made it work for us was to add an extra column called 'groups' in the nuke_modules, nuke_messages, nuke_blocks tables. The column types are VARCHAR. We did this manually in PHPMyAdmin.

Or the following 3 SQL statements should accomplish the same thing:

Code:


ALTER TABLE nuke_modules ADD groups VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL;
ALTER TABLE nuke_messages ADD groups VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL;
ALTER TABLE nuke_blocks ADD groups VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL;

-Rod
 
View user's profile Send private message
JoLo







PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 7:54 am Reply with quote

Ok, it works. Thanks. But now, it won't show the module in the navigation block once i set it to only be access to Groups Only. It's always something.
 
rod_a







PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:10 am Reply with quote

That part works for me just fine...

The only things I can think of is that you failed to select the groups themselves in the edit blocks form. By default it displays to nobody. Remember you can Control-Click to select multiple groups.

And/Or... your user is yet set to be a member of a group.

-Rod
 
montego
Site Admin



Joined: Aug 29, 2004
Posts: 9457
Location: Arizona

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 8:07 am Reply with quote

Not sure if it was a typo or somehow we have different distributions (got mine from this site), but in my version of 7.5, *nuke_messages* does not exist. I believe it should be *nuke_message* (without the *s* on the end).

I have found that the .sql file provided in the 1.5.0 distribution does not have the ALTER commands. However, the nsngr.php script for a new install does and I have *groups* field in each of the three mentioned tables.

Mine is still NOT working! Here are the steps that I followed:

Code:


1)  Downloaded clean 7.5 patched (2.6) version of Nuke and install vanilla
2)  Installed NSN Groups 1.5.0 as per instructions (verified that received NO error messages from running nsngr.php as a new install and also checked in phpMyAdmin to ensure the groups fields were present in the three tables).
3)  Created two users, call it User1 and User2 for this purpose
4)  Created two User Groups, call them Group1 and Group2 for this purpose
5)  Assigned User1 to Group1 and User2 to Group2
6)  Edited blocks to Deactivate everything except Home/News, Content, Downloads and Your Account (just to help make the menu smaller to see the results of my testing)
7)  Edited block for Content to be for Groups Only and tied to Group1
8)  Edited block for Download to be for Groups Only and tied to Group2
9)  Verified from the Group admin user list that all the users and groups were tied properly
10) Logged out of Admin
11)  Logged in to User1 --> NO change in the menu (i.e., Content did not show up)
12)  Logged out of User1 and Logged in to User2 --> same result (no Download).


I am running on Apache 1.3.31, PHP4.3.8 and mySQL 4.0.20 on a Win XP machine (my development machine).

There is nothing more I know to do except start digging through the code. I just don't see how this can be working for others out-of-the-box.

montego
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BobMarion







PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:23 am Reply with quote

nsngr.php does have the coding to add the groups fields to the 3 tables in question:
Code:
      $result = $db->sql_query("ALTER TABLE ".$prefix."_blocks ADD groups TEXT NOT NULL AFTER view");

      if (!$result) { echo "- Alter ".$prefix."_blocks failed<br>\n"; } else { echo "- Alter ".$prefix."_blocks succeeded<br>\n"; }
      $result = $db->sql_query("ALTER TABLE ".$prefix."_message ADD groups TEXT NOT NULL AFTER view");
      if (!$result) { echo "- Alter ".$prefix."_message failed<br>\n"; } else { echo "- Alter ".$prefix."_message succeeded<br>\n"; }
      $result = $db->sql_query("ALTER TABLE ".$prefix."_modules ADD groups TEXT NOT NULL AFTER view");
      if (!$result) { echo "- Alter ".$prefix."_modules failed<br>\n"; } else { echo "- Alter ".$prefix."_modules succeeded<br>\n"; }


On the block-modules.php . Modules assigned to a group by default are not visable to admins just the group members. If you want admin status to over-ride groups status look in hte readme for this:
Code:
3. Use

------
To use this module, just copy the files to the directories listed above. Then import
the included sql file before running the scripts. One imported you can start adding
groups and users to the groups.

You can now assign blocks, messages, and modules that only group(s) users can view :)

If you want admin status to over-ride groups status open includes/nsngr_func.php and find:
    /*if (is_admin($admin)) {
        return 1;
    } else*/if (is_user($user)) {

this appears in two functions, in_group() and in_groups(), then change it to:
    if (is_admin($admin)) {
        return 1;
    } elseif (is_user($user)) {


I will update the .sql file to have the alter commands.
 
montego







PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 8:05 pm Reply with quote

Bob,
Please relook at my steps 10 - 12. If you see, I had already logged out of Admin so that I could truelly test the groups. It is definitely not working in my environment.
Thanks,
montego
 
JoLo







PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 3:45 pm Reply with quote

I cosign that statement, montego. Still not visible.
 
montego







PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 6:54 pm Reply with quote

Bob,

I have just downloaded your 1.6.0 version of NSN Groups and run through the exact same scenario as presented in my above post on August 29. Exact same issue!!!!! Bang Head

I can send you my distributions for 7.5 + 2.6 patches from Chatserv that I am using so that you can possibly reproduce on your end. As before, I started from scratch with both of these, just overwriting the files that come with the patches AND from your 1.6.0 distribution. I have the same setup and tested in the same manner with logging out of admin AND any other session and tried the special users that I set up. The modules I set up for Groups Only access I cannot see in the active list!!

PLEASE HELP!!! This is getting very Bang Head Bang Head Bang Head Bang Head Bang Head Bang Head
 
BobMarion







PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 9:29 pm Reply with quote

I test everything on my end with the latest patches from CS Smile Is the login info you sent me still good?
 
montego







PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2004 9:51 pm Reply with quote

Dear all,
Bob has corrected this issue. Please refer to the following:

http://www.nukescripts.net/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=306#306
 
Display posts from previous:       
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> phpnuke 7.5

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©