Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Blocks
Author Message
Cirque
Hangin' Around



Joined: Oct 10, 2004
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 12:57 pm Reply with quote

Line 298 is missing an ) before the {

Ends up throwing a parse error unless its added.

Code:


   if ($gmember_online_num > 0 && ($showGuests||($showGuestsAdmin&&is_admin($admin)))) {
      $content .= "<br />$gwho_online_now";
      $hr = "\n<hr noshade>\n";
   }


is the corrected code
 
View user's profile Send private message
Raven
Site Admin/Owner



Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 17088

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:04 pm Reply with quote

You are so right Embarassed - In my haste to make the public one compatible with mine I overlooked that. Thanks!


Last edited by Raven on Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm; edited 1 time in total 
View user's profile Send private message
blith
Client



Joined: Jul 18, 2003
Posts: 977

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:12 pm Reply with quote

*post deleted 'cause I am stupid. I have to look at the hom page more often*
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Cirque







PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:34 pm Reply with quote

I also have 2 or 3 blank lines at the end of the block, wondering if you could help me figure out where one is so I can kill it.. I only want one space at the end, and I would assume the form itself would space things out a bit, unless I found the form box and added in a style for that..but anyways.. any ideas on whats causing that space?

Edit: Also there is the small dot symbol before the login or register links thats showing as part of the link and creates an extra _ before them where it should be space. Those should be moved outside the link unless its something on my end.

Code:


    $content .= "&nbsp;<input type=\"submit\" value=\""._LOGIN."\">\n<br />&nbsp;&middot;&nbsp;<a href=\"modules.php?name=Your_Account&amp;op=new_user\">"._BREG."</a><br>";
    $content .= "&nbsp;&middot;&nbsp;<a href=\"modules.php?name=Your_Account&amp;op=pass_lost\">"._PASSWORDLOST."</a><hr>";


Fixes the dots and also adds a space in front of them as well as one before the submit button of the form.

Edit:
Code:


$content .= "<form style=\"margin-top: 0; margin-bottom: 0;\" action=\"account.html\" method=\"post\">";

Fixes the blank line for me at least.

Thanks

www.mmgui.com


Last edited by Cirque on Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:25 pm; edited 1 time in total 
Cirque







PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:02 pm Reply with quote

Also is there any way to easily make this into a popup window that auto refreshes so I dont have to reload my site to see whos on?

Additionally, would adding in the module name of where online users are be tough if I already have it installed from a previous block?
 
Cirque







PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:20 pm Reply with quote

Also the logout link has spaces in the link itself showing underlines..

Code:


content .= "&nbsp;&nbsp;<a href=\"modules.php?name=Your_Account&amp;op=logout\">Logout</a>\n<hr>\n";

Fixed

Also noticed that the HR tags are not the same throughout.

So my personal taste is to do a global replacement for:

<hr noshade> and <hr>
to
<hr width=\"50%\">

I also remove all the images on the side except the mail icons and replace with the space codes. But those things are my own tastes. Smile

Question: How do you have something display ... instead of the full length of it? I see that happening on some users names (even though they would fit) and need to do the same for your resend email block as it stretches out my page with long url verification links. Sad

And if your taking suggestions for this block, I would love to see how long people have been idle as the title for their profile link as well as the option to display visitors to the public as Visitor IP.xx.xx.xx. Also wouldnt mind being able to show where users are as well under their names in the who is online listing.

Also just noticed that the HR you have near the bottom needs fixing to only show if the section its above is showing.

Code:


   $content .= "<small>"._PAGESVIEWS."<br />$startdate</small></center>";
if (is_user($user)||is_admin($admin)) {
   $content .= "<hr width=\"50%\">";
   $content .= "<center>"._BHITS." "._BTD.": <b>$today</b>";


That includes a line or two before/after.

Also...just noticed its got PHP_SELF in the top, shouldn't that be SCRIPT_NAME for those using your 2.6 patch?
 
Raven







PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:19 pm Reply with quote

Most of these things are cosmetic in nature. I don't see most of what you are taliking about. And no, PHP_SELF and SCRIPT_NAME are the same variable. However, SCRIPT_NAME is not always available so I recommend PHP_SELF. Long names are automatically truncated.
 
Cirque







PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:36 pm Reply with quote

Yes some of thats cosmitic, but if you have some HR's looking one way and some others looking diffrent in diffrent sections it tends to look a little strange. Also seems strange to have a HR at the bottom of the block when your just a visitor which is why I moved that down so its above whats being displayed only if its displayed.

I guess I misunderstood about PHP_SELF from reading the chatserve help file, guess I should go back and edit all my blocks to PHP_SELF not SCRIPT_NAME ? How would the average user know when to use which?

Offtopic: Just added a site link to here on my site, was there anything specific you wanted in the details?
 
Raven







PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:46 pm Reply with quote

Semantically, there isn't any; they should contain the same information. However, historically and technically speaking, there is. SCRIPT_NAME is defined in the CGI 1.1 specification, and is thus a standard. However, not all web servers actually implement it, and thus it isn't necessarily portable. PHP_SELF, on the other hand, is implemented directly by PHP, and as long as you're programming in PHP, will always be present.

Please add a title="Quality web hosting for all PHP applications" statement to your anchor tag that clicks to my site. Thanks!
 
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Blocks

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©