Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Installation Help
Author Message
64bitguy
The Mouse Is Extension Of Arm



Joined: Mar 06, 2004
Posts: 1164

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 3:32 pm Reply with quote

Okay folks...Here's a new one.

Normally when I install PHP-Nuke, I put the config.php file outside of the normally accessible path of users (below my public_html directory) where nobody can get to it.

Then in where config.php normally goes, I put a file in that says:

Code:
<?php 

include("../config.php");
?>


This works fine for PHP-Nuke installation for all version through 7.6.

Today, I did this same normal process and installation of 7.6 went fine; however, when I went to setup my forums through that admin screen (which takes you to: http://YOURDOMAIN.COM/modules/Forums/admin/index.php) I got the following errors:

Quote:

Warning: main(): Unable to access ../config.php in /home/xxx/public_html/config.php on line 2

Warning: main(../config.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/xxx/public_html/config.php on line 2

Warning: main(): Unable to access ../config.php in /home/xxx/public_html/config.php on line 2

Warning: main(../config.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/xxx/public_html/config.php on line 2

Warning: main(): Failed opening '../config.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/xxx/public_html/config.php on line 2

Fatal error: Cannot instantiate non-existent class: sql_db in /home/xxx/public_html/db/db.php on line 86


So... being smart enough to know that FB doesn't test his own software, I went ahead and put the config.php file back into the root of the domain and sure enough, everything works fine.

So..... Does anyone know where these properties are being defined so that I can fix them? I'm assuming that:

a) It doesn't like the include function from the config.php
b) It doesn't like the config.php values being out of bounds of the domain.
c) FB edited it, just enough of course to force it not to work
d) You are no longer able to use the config.php out of bounds of the browsable domain.
e) Some other reason that I haven't thought of... probably a combination of C and E.

Smile

Anyway.. if anyone has any ideas, I'm all ears.

_________________
Steph Benoit
100% Section 508 and W3C HTML5 and CSS Compliant (Truly) Code, because I love compliance. 
View user's profile Send private message
chatserv
Member Emeritus



Joined: May 02, 2003
Posts: 1389
Location: Puerto Rico

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 9:05 pm Reply with quote

Not sure why you want to move config.php anywhere since it's not readable but anyway the Forum's config file no longer tries to load Nuke's config.php file, instead it calls for mainfile.php, i can't recall any other of it's files linking to Nuke's config file.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
64bitguy







PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 9:40 pm Reply with quote

Then it must strictly be doing it via the admin functions, as I can't access Forum admin functions withou it there.

Sad
 
VinDSL
Life Cycles Becoming CPU Cycles



Joined: Jul 11, 2004
Posts: 614
Location: Arizona (USA) Admin: NukeCops.com Admin: Disipal Designs Admin: Lenon.com

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 5:05 am Reply with quote

64bitguy wrote:
...if anyone has any ideas, I'm all ears.

Near the top of 'mainfile.php'...

Change:
Code:
<snip>


($forum_admin == 1) {
require_once("../../../config.php");

<snip>


To:
Code:
<snip>


if ($forum_admin == 1) {
    require_once("../../../../config.php");

<snip>


That's how I made it work with 6.5 Wink

_________________
.:: "The further in you go, the bigger it gets!" ::.
.:: Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! | Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ::. 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number
VinDSL







PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 5:20 am Reply with quote

chatserv wrote:
Not sure why you want to move config.php anywhere since it's not readable...

The only reason I moved it, CS, is because I saw PHP crash on a certain web site once (ahem), during a botched upgrade, and all the files were laid wide open, for the whole world to see, complete with syntax highlighting.

LoL! My jaw hit the floor when I saw that. It made quite an impression! Smile
 
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Installation Help

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©