Author |
Message |
hitwalker
Sells PC To Pay For Divorce

Joined:
Posts: 5661
|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 8:10 am |
|
Ok bob already offered to do it for me but then i dont learn anything about this.
so i hope with some support il get it working....
in my nuke root i have the .htaccess.
the contents :
Code:
<Files .mysecretfile>
deny from all
</Files>
<Files admin.php>
<Limit GET POST PUT>
require valid-user
</Limit>
AuthName "Restricted"
AuthType Basic
AuthUserFile .mysecretfile
</Files>
|
Note : the AuthUserFile .mysecretfile is also tried with full path.
and the root i have the .secretfile
and the contents is :
Code:whateveradminname:10SCCVsc.hv.6
|
But i also used another encrypt code like :
Code:whateveradminname:$1$zcz139nv$vVQeLc/3SLncoOBSua/mA.
|
Different settings are used but as soon as i login i get the loginbox.
So thats probably not right..
Somehow its not reading the admin name or password correctly...or whatever...
So where does it all go wrong ?
Anyone ...? |
|
|
|
 |
Raven
Site Admin/Owner

Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 17088
|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 9:35 am |
|
Do you have HTTPAuth set to Yes? If so, that could be conflicting with th CGIAuth |
|
|
|
 |
hitwalker

|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 9:41 am |
|
Hi raven,
Yes and no...
ive tried both..
also tried generating the pass as you have on the other topis but i didnt touched the Crypt Salt setting in the admin config. |
|
|
|
 |
hitwalker

|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 10:27 am |
|
|
|
 |
Raven

|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 12:39 pm |
|
|
|
 |
hitwalker

|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 1:48 pm |
|
well yes,
i asume the username is to be put in the secretfile as well,but you dont mention that at all..
like i said...i get the popup screen but my username or password isnt recognised .
weird... |
|
|
|
 |
Raven

|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 2:16 pm |
|
Quote: | So, let's assume that your secret file is named mysecretfile. I would make it hidden by naming it .mysecretfile. Now, the contents will be a username:password, like myusername:mysecretpass, except mysecretpass needs to be encrypted with the crypt() function. | from that link above  |
|
|
|
 |
hitwalker

|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 2:22 pm |
|
yes....
ive put it on the server and created the password..
so if my username would be ravenphp the passwould be..
10ui8TYt8ai9g
and for salt value i took 10
so thats not so hard...
but im not recognised....  |
|
|
|
 |
Raven

|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 2:30 pm |
|
Can you use the regular HTTPAuth without .htaccess and .staccess?
Does your allow you to override or use ALL Directives in .htaccess? |
|
|
|
 |
hitwalker

|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 2:49 pm |
|
And what you mean by that....?
ok with some name changes,this is what i have in my .htaccess file.
Code:
<Files .mysecrtefile>
deny from all
</Files>
<Files admin.php>
<Limit GET POST PUT>
require valid-user
</Limit>
AuthName "Restricted"
AuthType Basic
AuthUserFile .mysecretfile
</Files>
|
and in the .secretfile it looks like this..
hiraven:10SCCVsc.hv.6
As for the sentinel config..
Admin Auth: is off
htaccess Path: is filled in..
staccess Path: is empty
Crypt Salt: (never touched)
So anything wrong with this? |
|
|
|
 |
Raven

|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 2:58 pm |
|
I'm trying to determine if Browser authentication is working at all. Remove the cgi auth stuff from .htaccess and try using NukeSentinel's HTTP Auth AFTER you set a password via the NukeSentinel admin panel. Then turn HTTPAuth on. |
|
|
|
 |
hitwalker

|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 3:03 pm |
|
yes that works,i already had set the login as it was recommended....
so i took it out of the htaccess ,turned the HTTPAuth on and the popup came and let me login perfectly....
but i knew that....
so what do we know by all of this ? |
|
|
|
 |
Raven

|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 3:09 pm |
|
First of all, if that works, just leave it
If the other is not working then we have to assume it is a user error - sorry. I use it and many, many others use it w/o an issue. The only other thing would be the path to .staccess . That is my guess. Other than that, I'm out of suggestions. |
|
|
|
 |
hitwalker

|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 3:22 pm |
|
so like this is just as good ?
But what you mean with the staccess ?
Cause thats not realy mentioned how that should be set... |
|
|
|
 |
Raven

|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 3:38 pm |
|
It is explained completely in that link above. That's where you put username:password |
|
|
|
 |
hitwalker

|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 3:43 pm |
|
yeah ok,so i asume that the way i added it to the file is correct ..?
Like this...hiraven:10SCCVsc.hv.6 ?
And the staccess path needs to be set in sentinel config ?
With the Admin Auth set to the CGIAuth ? |
|
|
|
 |
Raven

|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 5:11 pm |
|
No. The .staccess path is set in .htaccess |
|
|
|
 |
hitwalker

|
Posted:
Sun Dec 26, 2004 5:14 pm |
|
yeah well...ive tried that in the previous attempts,and that had same result.. |
|
|
|
 |
RTS-Bone
New Member


Joined: Jun 20, 2004
Posts: 9
|
Posted:
Fri Dec 31, 2004 11:59 am |
|
I`m having the same problem... is there any way to configure this in the cpanel if u have one ? |
|
|
|
 |
|