Author |
Message |
manunkind
Client
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/4720652b44af0a93765cf.jpg)
Joined: Apr 26, 2004
Posts: 368
Location: Albuquerque, NM
|
Posted:
Wed Mar 30, 2005 4:29 pm |
|
Hello everybody,
I have a quick question about the banner system. This allows for two input fields in Nuke: Image URL and Click URL
Now some affiliate programs give 3 parts to this for linking and getting a commision. Using this format:
Quote: | <IMG SRC="http://www.url.com" BORDER="0" WIDTH="1" HEIGHT="1" NOSAVE >
<A HREF="www.slightlydifferentURL.com" TARGET="_top"><IMG SRC="http://www.url.com/images/image.gif" BORDER="0" WIDTH="468" HEIGHT="60" ALT="Text goes here"></A>
|
My question is what parts do you enter to trigger the click and sale? PHP-Nuke gives 2 fields. These commision programs have 3 parts to the link/image. |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
dean
Worker
![Worker Worker](modules/Forums/images/ranks/3stars.gif)
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
Joined: Apr 14, 2004
Posts: 193
|
Posted:
Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:01 pm |
|
Easy enough, I usually download the image to my own site and enter the url to its location and the link to url where requested. |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
manunkind
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Wed Mar 30, 2005 7:44 pm |
|
I can do that with the above code by just using the 2nd and the 3rd parts. But it doesn't seem to be working. It's like it needs that third part before it completely registers. |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
Guardian2003
Site Admin
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/125904890252d880f79f312.png)
Joined: Aug 28, 2003
Posts: 6799
Location: Ha Noi, Viet Nam
|
Posted:
Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:14 am |
|
Forget it!
The most popular affilliate systems such as TradeDoubler require the inclusion of java as well for click tracking and updating the banner.
I have just been playing around with affilliate/banner ads and in particular, nukes system is completely inaequate in todays marketplace - not suprising since it has not been updated since medieval times.
Download phpAdsNew from http://phpadsnew.com/two/ install it and configure it then just drop the linking code which the software processes for you into your site.
This way you can use html banners as per nuke standard banners, affilliate banners and it supports most graphic file types including flash etc.....
Here is a rough insertion of the system working, you can see the rotating affilliate banner centre page just below the header (exisiting nuke banners have not been turned off yet in the header itself) www.guilofsecurity.co.uk
The code that makes the whole thing 'happen' is generated by the software itself and depending on how you have configured the software will probably be as simple as this example which just needs dropping in header.php;
Code:?>
<center>
<?php
if (@include(getenv('DOCUMENT_ROOT').'/phpadsnew.inc.php')) {
if (!isset($phpAds_context)) $phpAds_context = array();
$phpAds_raw = view_raw ('zone:1', 0, '_blank', '', '0', $phpAds_context);
echo $phpAds_raw['html'];
}
?>
</center>
|
If you want it even simpler, you could just include the phpadsnew.inc.php file.
The banner system itself has literally hundreds of options, so I will not go into that here but the zippped distro gives extensive readme file in pdf format (Administrators Guide, Users Guide and Developers Guide)
All we need now is for some guru to see the potential of this FREE (till the author realises it is probably the best system out there) banner system and integrate it in such a way as it replaces the exisiting nuke banner system. |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
manunkind
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Thu Mar 31, 2005 5:27 am |
|
Thanks! I will check it out. |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
Guardian2003
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Thu Mar 31, 2005 6:27 am |
|
Let me know how you get on. Although there are lots of different options and settings in this software, the pdf files go through each one explaining what does what so don't worry if it tkaes you a few hours to get to grips with it.
If you have multiple sites, this kit also allows you to serve banners on them as well - all from the same install! |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
manunkind
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:04 pm |
|
Wow, that is a whole Nuke size application to upload. I'm limited on space. I don't think that will be an option. Thanks though. |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
manunkind
![](modules/Forums/images/avatars/gallery/blank.gif)
|
Posted:
Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:06 pm |
|
I guess I'm looking for just a modification to the Banner system to where there is just one big text box to insert the above code into. |
|
|
|
![](themes/RavenIce/forums/images/spacer.gif) |
|