Author |
Message |
montego
Site Admin

Joined: Aug 29, 2004
Posts: 9457
Location: Arizona
|
Posted:
Fri Jun 17, 2005 11:04 pm |
|
This is a stumper for me. I upgraded from 2.9 to 3.0 on a 7.5 nuke version. Everything appeared to go smoothly. I installed the latest NukeSentinel, Nuke Treasury, NSN Groups, NSN GR Downloads and NSN Admin Login. Everything configured and tested perfectly. (I mention these as a possible clue as well as to let the reader know that I am no longer a newbie and am pretty adept now at installing mods.)
I tried to install NSN Workboard and it would not show up in the admin panel. I gave up and removed all its components and chalked it up to a blunder on my part or maybe an incompatibility with 3.0 (even though I changed the appropriate "Cannot access this file directly" statements).
Several days later, I tried to install another module. Very simple install. Again, does not show up in my module list!!! I am stumped. I have looked through the DB and files and cannot figure out what could be doing this. Did I say that it was a simple install??? Really... honest.
I even have display_errors set on and no errors. I have analyzed the admin/links.php script and compared to other 3.0 patched equivalents in other modules and can find no relevant differences and all my previous admin links still show up as well as in the module list.
Any ideas on where to look next? I am perplexed to say the least...
TIA,
montego |
_________________ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! |
|
|
 |
Raven
Site Admin/Owner

Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 17088
|
Posted:
Sat Jun 18, 2005 12:15 am |
|
In admin/modules/modules.php, verify that this lineCode: if ($mid == "") {
$db->sql_query("insert into " . $prefix . "_modules values (NULL, '$modlist[$i]', '$modlist[$i]', '0', '0', '1', '0', '')");
| agrees with your table schema in phpMyAdmin. In other words, count the number of fields in your modules table and see if that agrees with the number of fields your insert statement is trying to insert. In this case it should show 8. |
|
|
|
 |
montego

|
Posted:
Sat Jun 18, 2005 7:43 am |
|
Raven,
Mine has 9 because of the NSN Groups. I can possibly see how this impact the modules list within the Admin menu's Modules function if Nuke was coded to use "list" instead of explicit column references. I'll try moving the *groups* field to the end.
*BobMarion* -- you may need to review this!
HOWEVER, does this really impact how Nuke builds the Administration Menu icons? I was thinking it had to read the root/admin/links/links.*.php and root/modules/admin/*/link.php files to build this.
Regardless, I'll try moving the groups field... THANKS!
montego |
|
|
|
 |
montego

|
Posted:
Sat Jun 18, 2005 7:53 am |
|
Well, that wasn't it. I am really thinking it has to do with the 3.0 and script files. If the module's admin file(s) had a syntax error in it, would display_errors = 1 display it? (See my original note.) If not, then there could be a discrepancy. I don't think NSN Workboard and the other module I am trying are 3.0 compatible, but that is why I modified each to use the ADMIN_FILE define instead of the eregi and stristr statements that were there.
Is there any other issues you have run into, script-wise, with the patches that might resemble this behaviour? Basically looking for a few ideas to investigate since I am plumb out of ideas.
Thanks again! We'll get it... |
|
|
|
 |
montego

|
Posted:
Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:35 am |
|
Raven, you pointed me in the right direction. I found the issue. The distribution for NSN Groups 71-77 1.7.0 does not have required changes for the admin.php script! The Insert into nuke_modules must have been failing -- not sure why no errors were displayed.
I also believe that the new groups field added with the NSN installer should have placed the new field at the end, but that is just a personal preference thing. If the admin.php core changes had been in the distribution, this would not have been a problem.
Regardless, to get it to work, I had to do the following:
FIND in admin.php the following code:
Code:
if ($mid == "") {
$db->sql_query("insert into " . $prefix . "_modules values (NULL, '$modlist[$i]', '$modlist[$i]', '0', '0', '1', '0', '')");
}
|
It needs to be changed to:
Code:
if ($mid == "") {
$db->sql_query("insert into " . $prefix . "_modules values (NULL, '$modlist[$i]', '$modlist[$i]', '0', '0', '', '1', '0', '')");
}
|
Basically one has to find where the *groups* field was added and ensure the INSERT statement is adjusted accordingly!
Thanks Raven!!!
montego |
|
|
|
 |
Raven

|
Posted:
Sat Jun 18, 2005 11:20 am |
|
|
|
 |
sting
Involved


Joined: Sep 23, 2003
Posts: 456
Location: Somewhere out there...
|
Posted:
Mon Aug 01, 2005 11:02 am |
|
Of Note - Downgrading from 7.8 or 7.7 to 7.6 using the Nuke Scripts Downgrader - the 'wysig_status' field was left in the modules table. This caused the same problem. Either allow for it in the code, or (gasp) delete the wysig_status field.
And now, sting hopes that wysig was a misspelling for wysiwig.
-sting |
|
|
 |
 |
BobMarion
Former Admin in Good Standing

Joined: Oct 30, 2002
Posts: 1037
Location: RedNeck Land (known as Kentucky)
|
Posted:
Mon Aug 01, 2005 11:14 am |
|
Reason for not having the wysig_status field in hte Downgrader is that it was/is part of a patch not the original release. I will put a check into the downgrader though to check and see if it is in the table and if it is remove it  |
_________________ Bob Marion
Codito Ergo Sum
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! |
|
|
 |
sting

|
Posted:
Mon Aug 01, 2005 11:32 am |
|
Perfect. Thanks for all the great stuff you put out there by the way. I am constantly impressed.
-sting |
|
|
|
 |
mds
Client

Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 194
Location: Michigan
|
Posted:
Mon Aug 15, 2005 11:11 pm |
|
montego wrote: | Raven, you pointed me in the right direction. I found the issue. The distribution for NSN Groups 71-77 1.7.0 does not have required changes for the admin.php script! The Insert into nuke_modules must have been failing -- not sure why no errors were displayed.
I also believe that the new groups field added with the NSN installer should have placed the new field at the end, but that is just a personal preference thing. If the admin.php core changes had been in the distribution, this would not have been a problem.
Regardless, to get it to work, I had to do the following:
FIND in admin.php the following code:
Code:
if ($mid == "") {
$db->sql_query("insert into " . $prefix . "_modules values (NULL, '$modlist[$i]', '$modlist[$i]', '0', '0', '1', '0', '')");
}
|
It needs to be changed to:
Code:
if ($mid == "") {
$db->sql_query("insert into " . $prefix . "_modules values (NULL, '$modlist[$i]', '$modlist[$i]', '0', '0', '', '1', '0', '')");
}
|
Basically one has to find where the *groups* field was added and ensure the INSERT statement is adjusted accordingly!
Thanks Raven!!!
montego |
Thank You montego this fixed my issue as well ... i noticed that shortly after i added the nsngroups that my new modules were not showing up in my admin list as well ...applied the code above via copy and paste and wala all is good again ,,,Thank You raven for having such a common place to find the answer's to so many issues etc Hats off to all of the people of the 2-3 sites that i use for the excellent support to us !!! i just can't say enough |
|
|
|
 |
montego

|
Posted:
Tue Aug 16, 2005 7:31 am |
|
|
|
 |
|