Author |
Message |
Xiode
Regular


Joined: Jun 15, 2005
Posts: 78
Location: AR
|
Posted:
Sat Sep 03, 2005 10:57 pm |
|
Is there any way to add something to the splash page so that it tracks refferals too? Like my main site is in a sub folder from root, and I have an index.php ( splash page ) in root. wehn someone is refered to my site they hit the splash. Now if they are directly linked to my site it shows in the refferals ( ex core.xiodestudios.com ) but if they link to main url it shows the refferal as www.xiodestudios.com. wondering if there was anything I could add to the splash to catch the actual reffering site. |
_________________ **Mental Note** Signature Goes Here! |
|
|
 |
hitwalker
Sells PC To Pay For Divorce

Joined:
Posts: 5661
|
Posted:
Sun Sep 04, 2005 4:03 am |
|
no,not to my knowledge cause the splash page is outside nuke and not a part of it..
you can solve it by using an extra script to track visitors,and there a thousands that can do that...
For example http://www.phpee.com/index.php?node=3 |
|
|
|
 |
Xiode

|
Posted:
Sun Sep 04, 2005 12:51 pm |
|
well if I have to use an external program I might as well just use awstats in cpanel. Was just hoping i could get my nuke running more efficient. |
|
|
|
 |
hitwalker

|
Posted:
Sun Sep 04, 2005 2:26 pm |
|
well thats what you get when using a splash intro page.
i use a portal as index and i get same referers so...
dont make a big fuzz out of it... |
|
|
|
 |
Xiode

|
Posted:
Sun Sep 04, 2005 2:28 pm |
|
what function in nuke tracks the refferals in nuke? Where is it at? Mainfile? header? maybe I can include the function into my splash? |
|
|
|
 |
hitwalker

|
Posted:
Sun Sep 04, 2005 2:31 pm |
|
its not realy a function...
its build in so that would be hard to do.. |
|
|
|
 |
CurtisH
Life Cycles Becoming CPU Cycles

Joined: Mar 15, 2004
Posts: 638
Location: West Branch, MI
|
Posted:
Sun Sep 04, 2005 3:51 pm |
|
I believe this is what you are looking for:
Code:if ($httpref==1) {
$referer = $_SERVER["HTTP_REFERER"];
$referer = htmlspecialchars(strip_tags($referer));
if ($referer=="" OR eregi("^unknown", $referer) OR substr("$referer",0,strlen($nukeurl))==$nukeurl OR eregi("^bookmark",$referer)) {
} else {
$result = $db->sql_query("INSERT INTO ".$prefix."_referer VALUES (NULL, '$referer')");
}
$numrows = $db->sql_numrows($db->sql_query("SELECT * FROM ".$prefix."_referer"));
if($numrows>=$httprefmax) {
$result2 = $db->sql_query("DELETE FROM ".$prefix."_referer");
}
}
|
Found in index.php |
_________________ Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things which escape those who dream only by night. ~Poe |
|
|
 |
Xiode

|
Posted:
Sun Sep 04, 2005 3:55 pm |
|
ok.. but what else would I need to add to this file to secure it? Cause I would have to include my mainfile and/or config file right? |
|
|
|
 |
Raven
Site Admin/Owner

Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 17088
|
Posted:
Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:10 pm |
|
Here is one method. I have set up what I believe are 3 different scripts to test and demonstrate what I think you are after.
http://www.ravenphpscripts.com/test_start.php should represent a link to my test Splash page. When it is clicked, you will see some different Server settings that it captures. Now, remember the HTTP_REFERER setting on this second screen as it is the TRUE referer page that I think you want to capture.
Now, click the button to enter my test home page and you will see the HTTP_REFERER is reading the last screen which you don't want. However, I have captured and passed it as the POST variable referer.
There are other methods also but they are basically just variations on the same theme. |
|
|
|
 |
|