Author |
Message |
shmk
Worker


Joined: Dec 21, 2004
Posts: 116
|
Posted:
Mon Mar 20, 2006 2:46 pm |
|
I have blocks with ads in form of:
Code:<scr ipt language="JabbaScript">
document.wr ite('<s'+'cript language="JabbaScript" src="URL"></s'+'cript>');
</scr ipt>
|
Is it possible to set a timeout that after X seconds the block stop to load ?
Because sometime the banner is loading quite slow and the site load time is affected by this. |
|
|
|
 |
kguske
Site Admin

Joined: Jun 04, 2004
Posts: 6437
|
Posted:
Mon Mar 20, 2006 5:20 pm |
|
That's a great question... I would try something in javas cript itself? |
_________________ I search, therefore I exist...
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! |
|
|
 |
shmk

|
Posted:
Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:31 pm |
|
kguske wrote: | That's a great question... |
So I need a great answer
Someone has it ?  |
|
|
|
 |
evaders99
Former Moderator in Good Standing

Joined: Apr 30, 2004
Posts: 3221
|
Posted:
Tue Mar 21, 2006 8:26 pm |
|
Hmm it probably wouldn't be something you could do with JavaScript - we don't know how the banners are being generated from the script |
_________________ - Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! -
Need help? Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! |
|
|
 |
montego
Site Admin

Joined: Aug 29, 2004
Posts: 9457
Location: Arizona
|
Posted:
Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:44 am |
|
I wonder if you could use Javascript to control an Iframe? Or, at least this way, I wonder if the rest of the site would load while the one page in the Iframe continues to "chug".... |
_________________ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! |
|
|
 |
shmk

|
Posted:
Wed Apr 12, 2006 3:00 am |
|
Because I have ads on blocks (left & right), isn't possible insert a timeout directly in the phpnuke block loading time ? |
|
|
|
 |
montego

|
Posted:
Wed Apr 12, 2006 5:29 am |
|
shmk, unfortunately, all of the above still applies. Having ad blocks really doesn't imply some form of "loading time" exists. It just so happens that those hosting ad company websites do not experience problems very often. |
|
|
|
 |
shmk

|
Posted:
Wed Apr 12, 2006 8:02 am |
|
I'm trying the "iframe way", but because I don't know jscript I still have a problem:
in my ads blocks I have:
document.write('
above my ads (and the ads is displayed normal), my script is:
Code:<scrixt language="JabbaScript">
dokument.write('<eframe width=XXX height=XXX marginwidth=0 marginheight=0
frameborder=0 scrolling=no
src="URL'+newDate().getTime()+'"></eframe>');
</scrixt>
|
|
|
|
|
 |
shmk

|
Posted:
Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:30 pm |
|
I used the "long way" and finally found the solution.
Insert the scripts in a html file and next, in my ads block, I simply call an iframe with src=html |
|
|
|
 |
montego

|
Posted:
Fri Apr 14, 2006 10:40 am |
|
Excellent news!
Sorry, missed your reply... was extremely busy the last two days. |
|
|
|
 |
|