Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Converting/Creating Themes
Author Message
hube
Hangin' Around



Joined: May 02, 2008
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 7:48 am Reply with quote

A few years ago I started theming for PHPuke. Since I only know my way with graphics and am an amateur, I have little knowledge of coding.

In 2003 I got permission from MTechnik to use his forum files. I have been using those ever since.

My concern is that these files are outdated. My question to you, how do I update them? Can I update some files and leave other untouched?

Thanks in advance for your help.
 
View user's profile Send private message
fkelly
Former Moderator in Good Standing



Joined: Aug 30, 2005
Posts: 3312
Location: near Albany NY

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 8:57 am Reply with quote

There is no "generic" way to answer your question. Some themes come with matching Forum templates and others do not. It sounds like the Mtechnik themes you are using come with matching Forum templates. But you would need to be more specific: what *nuke release are you using, what themes are you trying to use and what difficulties are you experiencing -- if any. The latest Ravennuke release is 2.30 and can be found in the downloads section here. Generally speaking the major focus of the latest RN release with regard to themes has been to make them W3C compliant -- that involved fixing a lot of bugs. But nothing has been done deliberately to make RN incompatible with older themes.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
spiders
Regular
Regular



Joined: Jun 05, 2006
Posts: 90
Location: Aachen / Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:00 am Reply with quote

Hi,
If your templates have not modified, so original templates without using mods, then you can use the templates from your RavenPack.

Use the templates from

root/themes/fisubice or root/themes/RavenIce.

If you use for example the fisubice Theme, then do this.

Open an editor and then use the Search/Replace function.

Search/Replace settings in your Editor:

Find in Files >>

Find what: fisubice

Replace with: "YOUR THEMENAME"

This Serach / Replace function must be with all templates are made.


now, you have actually forums templates Smile

cheers
Spiders
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hube







PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:59 pm Reply with quote

Hi there,

Thanks, If raven has no problem with this, I'll start using these (of course specifically for RN). The idea of using MTechniks files for so long, is simply because they were quite well modified and had some extras for the forum. (Mouseovers, special icons, borders and the modified style.css etc.)

anyway, I'll give it a try, and will post as I go. thanks.
 
spiders







PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 12:21 am Reply with quote

Hi,

if you have problems, I can gladly help you.


cheers
Spiders
 
hube







PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:03 am Reply with quote

thank you! I am sure I'll need it Very Happy
 
spiders







PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:11 am Reply with quote

Wink
 
hube







PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:03 am Reply with quote

Hi,

I am using fisubice as base for my new theme. and am running into a problem that I cannot fix. This is regarding opening and closing of tables.

Now when I use the code below:


Code:
function OpenTable() {

    global $bgcolor1, $bgcolor2;
print "<table border=\"0\" cellpadding=\"0\" cellspacing=\"0\" style=\"width: 100%\">
<tr>
<td rowspan=\"1\" colspan=\"1\" width=\"13\" height=\"12\">
   <img name=\"story_home0\" src=\"/themes/Lexus3/images/tables/story_home_1x1.jpg\" width=\"13\" height=\"12\" border=\"0\" alt=\"\" /></td>
<td rowspan=\"1\" colspan=\"1\" height=\"12\" style=\"background-image: url('/themes/Lexus3/images/tables/story_home_1x2.jpg'); width: 100%;\">
   <img name=\"story_home1\" src=\"/themes/Lexus3/images/tables/story_home_1x2.jpg\" height=\"12\" border=\"0\" alt=\"\" /></td>
<td rowspan=\"1\" colspan=\"1\" width=\"12\" height=\"12\">
   <img name=\"story_home2\" src=\"/themes/Lexus3/images/tables/story_home_1x3.jpg\" width=\"12\" height=\"12\" border=\"0\" alt=\"\" /></td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td rowspan=\"1\" colspan=\"1\" width=\"13\" style=\"background-image: url('/themes/Lexus3/images/tables/story_home_2x1.jpg')\">
   <img name=\"story_home3\" src=\"/themes/Lexus3/images/tables/story_home_2x1.jpg\" width=\"13\" border=\"0\" alt=\"\" /></td>
<td rowspan=\"1\" colspan=\"1\" style=\"background-color: #DCE4E6\">
";

}

function CloseTable() {
print "</td>
<td rowspan=\"1\" colspan=\"1\" width=\"12\" style=\"background-image: url('/themes/Lexus3/images/tables/story_home_2x3.jpg')\">
   <img name=\"story_home5\" src=\"/themes/Lexus3/images/tables/story_home_2x3.jpg\" width=\"12\" border=\"0\" alt=\"\" /></td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td rowspan=\"1\" colspan=\"1\" width=\"13\" height=\"15\">
   <img name=\"story_home6\" src=\"/themes/Lexus3/images/tables/story_home_3x1.jpg\" width=\"13\" height=\"15\" border=\"0\" alt=\"\" /></td>
<td rowspan=\"1\" colspan=\"1\" height=\"15\" style=\"background-image: url('/themes/Lexus3/images/tables/story_home_3x2.jpg')\">
   <img name=\"story_home7\" src=\"/themes/Lexus3/images/tables/story_home_3x2.jpg\" height=\"15\" border=\"0\" alt=\"\" /></td>
<td rowspan=\"1\" colspan=\"1\" width=\"12\" height=\"15\">
   <img name=\"story_home8\" src=\"/themes/Lexus3/images/tables/story_home_3x3.jpg\" width=\"12\" height=\"15\" border=\"0\" alt=\"\" /></td>
</tr>

</table>
";

}



The tables will not expand to 100%. this is also the case with the default tables.php file, which makes me think this is not a problem with the tables.php

Can anyone help me with this?
 
fkelly







PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:28 am Reply with quote

Where are you getting this fisubice code that you are basing your theme on? Fisubice in Ravennuke looks nothing like this and hasn't for at least several releases. In your OpenTable you have one table with two rows. Fisubice (RN 2.4 but it hasn't changed in that regard I don't think in a while) has 4 tables embedded in each other. You are using prints instead of echoes and you have the old method of escaped double quotes instead of single quotes. You are also using styles for your widths.

If you want to continue with your own code this way, fine but for diagnosing it I would suggest running the w3c validator or one of the Firefox addons that do validation.
 
hube







PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:40 am Reply with quote

Please, I mean no harm.

As the code I am placing, this is my own, that I use for the tables.php of the fisubice theme. Obviously that will be different from the default coding.

But for arguments sake, let's forget the coding of my previous post and use the tables.php coding from the original tables.php

Code:
<?php


/************************************************************/
/* OpenTable Functions                                      */
/*                                                          */
/* Define the tables look&feel for you whole site. For this */
/* we have two options: OpenTable and OpenTable2 functions. */
/* Then we have CloseTable and CloseTable2 function to      */
/* properly close our tables. The difference is that        */
/* OpenTable has a 100% width and OpenTable2 has a width    */
/* according with the table content                         */
/************************************************************/

function OpenTable() {
    global $bgcolor1, $bgcolor2;
    echo '<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="7">
  <tr>
    <td><table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="1">
        <tr>
          <td bgcolor="#486386"><table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="1">
              <tr>
                <td bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="1">
                    <tr>
                      <td bgcolor="#F4F6FB"><table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="4">
                          <tr>
                            <td>';
}

function CloseTable() {
    echo '</td>
                          </tr>
                        </table></td>
                    </tr>
                  </table></td>
              </tr>
            </table></td>
        </tr>
      </table></td>
  </tr>
</table>';
}

function OpenTable2() {
    global $bgcolor1, $bgcolor2;
    echo '<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="7">
  <tr>
    <td><table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="1">
        <tr>
          <td bgcolor="#486386"><table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="1">
              <tr>
                <td bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="1">
                    <tr>
                      <td bgcolor="#F4F6FB"><table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="4">
                          <tr>
                            <td>';
}

function CloseTable2() {
    echo '</td>
                          </tr>
                        </table></td>
                    </tr>
                  </table></td>
              </tr>
            </table></td>
        </tr>
      </table></td>
  </tr>
</table>';
}

?>




Even with the coding above, the tables don't expland to 100%, actually they don't expand at all, simply take on the width to the size of the content. I am trying to figure out what other file it could be.

I got fisubice from ravennuke 2.30.01.
 
fkelly







PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:11 am Reply with quote

No harm taken, I was just trying to understand what you were doing and where you were getting the code from.

There are others here who understand html layout better than I. It could be that if you specify a width of 100% it is supposed to size the table around the content. I'd google something like 'html table layout' or get a book on the subject. You can say the width in pixels and you'll get a fixed width. Or just experiment with a simple html page and tables with different width settings and see what you get.
 
spasticdonkey
RavenNuke(tm) Development Team



Joined: Dec 02, 2006
Posts: 1693
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:35 am Reply with quote

I'm not 100% sure what you are trying to do, but I don't think you want to edit the OpenTable or CloseTable functions as they are used all over the site, and it will likely cause issues.

Where are you attempting to place this content? You may want to edit one of the html templates instead, but that depends on what your are attempting...
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hube







PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 2:21 pm Reply with quote

My mistake.

It turns out I misspelled the opentable function at the end of the header.html

thank you for your time.
 
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Converting/Creating Themes

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©