Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> PHP
Author Message
Donovan
Client



Joined: Oct 07, 2003
Posts: 735
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:19 pm Reply with quote

I have scores from a match I want to reconcile and deduct points from the losing team. The match scores were 7-6. The script is below.

Code:
if ($op == "ReconcileMatch") {   

   $game_id = $_POST['game_id'];
   $winner = $_POST['winner'];
   $loser = $_POST['loser'];
   $team_id = $_POST['team_id'];
   $loserscores = $_POST['loserscores'];
   $winnerscores = $_POST['winnerscores'];

   if (($loserscores) >= 4){
   $r_points = '-1';
   }elseif(($loserscores) <= 3){
   $r_points = '-2';
      }else{
      $r_points = '-3';
      }


The losing score was 6 so the value should have been -1, but instead it was -2.

The logic is the worse the score was for the loser the more points are deducted from his total.

Don't know where I went wrong on this. I generate $r_points myself. It is not in any form.

Is there an easier way? Less chance of errors like this?
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number
montego
Site Admin



Joined: Aug 29, 2004
Posts: 9457
Location: Arizona

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 11:01 pm Reply with quote

The only way '-3' would get valued is if the value was in-between 3 and 4 but not inclusive. If these are integer values (as you have indicated), you need to losen up one of those conditions.

_________________
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Donovan







PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 11:16 pm Reply with quote

I also have it written like

Code:
if (4 >= $loserscores AND $loserscores <= 7){

   $r_points = '-1';
   }elseif(1 >= $loserscores AND $loserscores <= 3){
   $r_points = '-2';
      }else{
      $r_points = '-3';
      }   
 
Donovan







PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:19 am Reply with quote

montego wrote:
The only way '-3' would get valued is if the value was in-between 3 and 4 but not inclusive. If these are integer values (as you have indicated), you need to losen up one of those conditions.


Not following your post. I assign the negative numbers. I just need to find if the loserscore is between 7 or 4 if so then a -1 is assigned to r_points

If the loserscore is between 1 and 3 then -2

else -3

savy?
 
montego







PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:16 am Reply with quote

My point is that look at each of your conditions. Where would "4" fall and where would "3" fall? Can $loserscores be anything in-between 3 and 4? I.e., a "real" value as apposed to an "integer"?

You are always using ">=" or "<=". why not trying to "lose the equal sign" on one of those (i.e., what I meant by "losening up one of the conditions".
 
Donovan







PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:08 am Reply with quote

It would appear that this would be correct.

Code:
if (($loserscores) >= 4){ 

   $r_points = '-1';
   }elseif((($loserscores) <= 3) AND ($loserscores != 0)){
   $r_points = '-2';
      }else{
      $r_points = '-3';
      }


But a score of 3 is now giving me a -3 result when it should give me a -2.
 
montego







PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:01 pm Reply with quote

Why would it?

3 is <= 3 AND it is != 0....

what am I missing?
 
Donovan







PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:12 pm Reply with quote

I guess I'm the one missing something as you are far more experinced in this logic.

Explain to me...

if $loserscore = 3

and ($loserscores <= 3) is true

AND ($loserscores != 0) is true

then why would it not give me the result $r_points = -2?

See I only want it to give me $r_points = -3 when the $loserscore is 0
 
montego







PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:28 pm Reply with quote

No, my fault. I reversed the two in my head. Does the following work:

Why not the following?

Code:


if ($loserscores >= 4)
   $r_points = -1;
elseif (($loserscores < 4) && ($loserscores > 0))
   $r_points = -2;
else
   $r_points = -3;


Sorry for misunderstanding you ealier.
 
montego







PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:39 pm Reply with quote

Donovan, I won't be back on the boards until either late tonight or early in the morning just so you know...
 
Donovan







PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:36 pm Reply with quote

I think I may have found the problem. It may not be with the if else logic.

I can select a radio button on this forum, but when I process the script it doesn't insert the correct row of data to the database table. It inserts one of the other rows of data. I could probably put this into an array and submit all with checkboxes but I suck at arrays.

Image

http://www.eto-league.com/MatchList.txt


My index.php contains this.

Code:
case "ReconcileMatch":

    reconcileMatch($game_id, $winner, $loser, $team_id, $loserscores, $winnerscores);
    break;


And then the function that inserts all the variables.

http://www.eto-league.com/reconcileMatch.txt

Scratching my head on this. Don't know why it would not pass the correct records.
 
montego







PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:46 pm Reply with quote

What does the HTML code look like for this form? Each of the option input field should have the same name="xxxxx" and then the value, I would think, would be your ID?

Remember that echo and die() functions are your "friends".

Try echoing out your variables and then right before your first sql command, issue a:

die('got here');

Make sure the variables from the form are getting to this function properly.
 
Donovan







PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 9:03 pm Reply with quote

montego wrote:
What does the HTML code look like for this form? Each of the option input field should have the same name="xxxxx" and then the value, I would think, would be your ID?



Here is what the html looks like.


Code:
<tr><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">1</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">Dec 4, 2006, 20:39</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">3rd Infantry Division</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">82nd Airborne 1</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">7</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">0</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><input type="radio" name="game_id" value="1"></td></tr>


<tr><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">2</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">Dec 7, 2006, 22:33</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">1 GEBIRGSJAEGER DIVISION</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">3rd Infantry Division</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">7</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">6</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><input type="radio" name="game_id" value="2"></td></tr>

<tr><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">3</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">Dec 9, 2006, 01:02</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">UK Hitler Assassination Squad</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">45th Infantry Division</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">7</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><font color="#000000">3</td><td align="center" bgcolor="#666666"><input type="radio" name="game_id" value="3"></td></tr>

<tr><td><input type="submit" value="Reconcile"></td></tr><input type="hidden" name="team_id" value="121"><input name="op" type="hidden" value="ReconcileMatch""></table></form></TD>


Why would team_id listed near the end already have a value assigned?

I currently have this.

Code:
. "<td align=\"center\" bgcolor=\"#666666\"><input type=\"radio\" name=\"game_id\" value=\"$game_id\"></td>"
 
montego







PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:33 pm Reply with quote

The HTML form code looks reasonable enough. Regarding this here:

Quote:

Why would team_id listed near the end already have a value assigned?


I can't tell you because you are not showing anywhere this line of code that is generating this. The code snippet you provided is for input field named "game_id", not "team_id".

I think you are going to have to dig on this one a bit using the techniques I mentioned above with echoes and the die() statement. Just what is getting into the function and what isn't and is it what you expect to see from what you selected on the page.
 
Donovan







PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 10:07 pm Reply with quote

I posted this problem on another site and here is some feedback.

Quote:
You set team_id after the while loop so the value passed is the last value of team_id in the list. You correctly pass a correct value for game_id but you do not pass winner, loser, winnerscores and loserscores, but you use those last four variables when reconciling. All you need to pass is the game _id (I think) Then look up the values for that specific game_id inside your reconcile function then perform your reconciliation and updates inside the function.


I don't see how I am passing the correct game_id as the correct game_id is not getting reconciled. I can tell this from my UPDATE statement

Code:
"UPDATE " . $prefix . "_tc_playedgames SET reconciled ='1' WHERE game_id ='$game_id'";


Does not reconcile the correct game_id.

I could just pass game_id and then run my query in my function to INSERT all the other values if only I could get the correct game_id passed.
 
montego







PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:33 pm Reply with quote

montego wrote:
I can't tell you because you are not showing anywhere this line of code that is generating this. The code snippet you provided is for input field named "game_id", not "team_id".

I think you are going to have to dig on this one a bit using the techniques I mentioned above with echoes and the die() statement. Just what is getting into the function and what isn't and is it what you expect to see from what you selected on the page.


Need to see more of the PHP code behind this. Need to see what is generating the form and then what is processing it.
 
Donovan







PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:25 am Reply with quote

I finally fixed this by getting rid of the radio buttons and using links for each record. Radio buttons would not pass the correct game_id no matter what I did.
 
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> PHP

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©