Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Blocks
Author Message
derek765
Regular
Regular



Joined: Sep 27, 2012
Posts: 99
Location: Okinawa, Japan

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:00 am Reply with quote

Hello Raven Community,

I have the Shout Box block on my website, and just trying to improve it, noticed everytime you make a shout, it would auto fresh the whole page, how could I go about canceling that process out and just have it be a live shout box?

If needed, I could zip the block up and post it.

Regards, Derek.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
spasticdonkey
RavenNuke(tm) Development Team



Joined: Dec 02, 2006
Posts: 1693
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:24 am Reply with quote

nukecoder has a "live chat" that as far as I know still works
http://www.nukecoder.com/shop_item-13.html

As far as adding AJAX form submission to the shoutbox, it's certainly possible. I got into creating a slider version of it some time back, but never got a chance to return to it. You can see it in the left block column here; http://www.axis-and-allies.com/

Although I haven't used ajax for form submission, this would give you a starting point.
http://net.tutsplus.com/tutorials/javascript-ajax/submit-a-form-without-page-refresh-using-jquery/

Note that after submission, you would want to use jquery's .load method instead of the .html they are using to display a confirmation message. It's fairly easy to use load, in this example the #targetContainer will be loaded with content from #fromContainer (a container with an id of fromContainer) on index,php. The function is a callback which only executes after the data is loaded (//do stuff), so you could display a "thanks for shouting" etc.
Code:
$('#targetContainer').load('index.php #fromContainer', function() {

   // do stuff
});


It may end up being a PITA to get it working, but that's what I would try if it were me Smile
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
derek765







PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:58 pm Reply with quote

I tried out that Live Chat, ediited the SQL tables to my default prefix before running and everything, but can't seem to get it to connect to the database.

Everytime when trying to view it as a block or module, it displays a Error connecting to database, so I try Including config.php file in the LiveChat.php file in the root, and still same error.
 
Guardian2003
Site Admin



Joined: Aug 28, 2003
Posts: 6799
Location: Ha Noi, Viet Nam

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:17 pm Reply with quote

Does this help?
http://www.nukecoder.com/ftopicp-2913-error_accessing_the_server_.html#2913
 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
derek765







PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:35 pm Reply with quote

I tried that as well, still same error.

Code:
define('INCLUDE_PATH', '');
 
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Blocks

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©